phish's 6-core mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by flyingphish, Aug 22, 2010.

1. flyingphish macrumors newbie

Hello. This is my first post and first mac pro and would like to thank the members for their time and effort in helping myself and others on this forum. i have learned much thru searching and now have some questions.

I use LR3, Photoshop, Illustrator, and Final Cut. My data file consist of ~2tb of photos and video. I am an amateur photographer and want to build a strong rig that suits my purposes, with some future proofing thrown in for good measure. Please advise if I am heading in the right or wrong direction:

I have on order a 2010 6 core mac pro. I plan to buy from OWC the following components:

16gb ram 4X4gb
    120gb ssd - OSX boot
    3x2tb caviar black/green or re-4's in striped array - data
    1x1tb (stock drive) caviar black - dedicated windows7 boot

my back-up is:

on site - OWC Qx2 4-bay with 8tb in raid 5 giving me 6tb of storage with time machine handling backup.

off site - drobo 4x1tb

When i get my mac i plan to install like this:

1. install ram
    2. install ssd in lower optical drive bay
    3. remove stock hard drive
    4. power up, install snow leopard onto ssd minus bloat
    5. power down, install all 4 hard drives, power back up and configure drives like this using disk utility:

Drive/bay 1 - 1tb stock caviar - partition for 250gb scratch, the remainder for windows7

Drives/bays 2,3,4 - 3x2tb caviars or re-4's in raid 0.

My concerns:

Can I get away with going non-enterprise hard drives. there seems to be a debate when running them in raid 0.

i do want them quiet and everyone says the blacks are loud, the greens are quiet. this computer will be in my bedroom so not sure if itll be put to sleep or get shut down every nite. there is always the green enterprise drives?