Pictures folder and iPhoto...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by YoNadz, Jun 13, 2009.

1. YoNadz macrumors regular

Hello, I'm new to MAC. I imported all of my photos to iPhone, great program. But when I go to my PICTURES folder under my user name in the finder, the only way to access the pictures is to open iPhoto. Is there a few to also have the files shown individually in my photos folder so I don't have to open iPhoto each time I want to view them???

2. bonswizzle macrumors member

bonswizzle

I also noticed this and was a little confused, (I still am for that matter), I would also like some advice...

3. swiftaw macrumors 603

swiftaw

In the Pictures folder you'll see 'iPhoto Library'. Right click on it and select "Show Package Contents" you'll then see all your photos.

Be careful not to change anything in there though else you may corrupt your iPhoto library.

4. YoNadz thread starter macrumors regular

any help?? Is there a way to make the photos show in file format in the iFinder??

5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

r.j.s

By disabling the "Copy items to iPhoto library on import" option in iPhoto preferences, you can keep the files wherever you like in Finder ... now, you'll have to manually copy files to the folders in you pictures folder, THEN import them to iPhoto.

6. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

i.shaun

just for a bit of info:

iPhoto (by default) acts much like iTunes in the way it operates. It created a Library file which it controls. Inside that file contains all the photos, settings, and everything else iPhoto uses.

You can access the pictures manually by right clicking (or control+click) and selecting "Show Package Contents".

Do not delete, re-name, move, or edit files inside the library manually

Every time photos are imported, iPhoto organizes it automatically within it's own file structure. iPhoto lets you create albums and events in order to view, organize, and store your images.