Plasma TV as monitor?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Loa, Aug 4, 2011.

  1. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm planning on getting a 46" plasma TV to watch movies/TV shows directly from my 2009 Mac Pro. It will be driven by HDMI through a 6870 GPU.

    This in itself should be pretty simple to set up.

    Question is: can HDTVs be used as monitors?

    Thanks

    Loa
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    Yes. The resolution will only be 1920x1080, which is much lower than many monitors, but that should be fine for most purposes.

    TEG
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    They can, but they make terrible primary monitors due to their low DPI and and lower quality panels.
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    Theoretically it will work, but in real life it's hit or miss. It works for many, maybe even most.

    But many people also complain in forums about TVs not working with OS X, usually connected by HDMI. The usual problems are HDCP handshake issues, EDID mismatch, overscan/underscan causing blurry text, white levels don't look right, colors wildly off, proper resolution not selectable in OS X, MDP adapters not working, etc.

    So, uh, good luck.
     
  5. drac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    #5
    Will probably work.

    I have a 60" Pioneer Kuros in the lounge attached to a 2010 mac mini via HDMI.
    We mostly use it as a HT device but its fine for a casual look at the web, checking your mail or looking at photos form the days activities.

    It is not however suitable for use as a primary monitor. You would probably be unwise to leave a static image on a plasma display for any significant length of time. If you are planning this I strongly recommend using a plasma display burn in disc for the first couple of weeks and then setting your computer to put the display to screen save then sleep as soon as you can tolerate.

    Regarding set up- no problems. Full dot to dot at 1080p and correct colour output for my calibrated display.
     
  6. IceMacMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #6
    I've tried it and it certainly works...

    but for whatever reason it seemed to slow down the refresh and responsiveness of my other monitors. I have two video cards and was driving 3 other monitors.
     
  7. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    I used a 40" as my primary display for a while...

    If you're sitting a ways back, it's not bad, but up close it's unusable. Just as a video watching display it's fine, but I wouldn't use one for real work. Also, the color accuracy is usually not as good.

    The 40" and my Mac Pro are in different rooms now. :)
     
  8. Loa thread starter macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
  9. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #9
    HDTVs still use maximum 1900x1080, which at 40" is very stretched, text will be almost unreadable, display very pixelated. also TV's has lower pixel density then computer monitors.
     
  10. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #10
    They can, but remember the resolution is going to be spread over 46" inches. That means, each pixel is going to be very large, and subsequently very unsharp.
     
  11. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #11
    Just keep in mind, assuming it does work and you can live with it (text is readable), Plasma panels tend to suffer from burn-in. Even the newer types that have an orbital pattern to change the pixel cell the image is generated on.

    So it's not a good idea to leave a still image on it for long.

    Just thought it worth mentioning. ;)
     
  12. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #12
    True, but panel burn-in (permanent image retention) was a much bigger problem on early PDPs than it is on modern ones. Pixel orbiting and overall improvements to panel technology have offset this problem quite a bit. But PDPs are still not totally immune to this, so taking the usual precautions isn't a bad idea. ;)

    I used to connect my '08 MBP (via a DVI to HDMI cable) to my 50" Pioneer Elite for watching HD videos. But as mentioned several times already in this thread, its higher pixel density (versus a computer monitor) made it practically useless for just about anything else.
     
  13. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    Definitely.

    Exactly.

    We don't know the exact make/model of Plasma set (idea of age), or what the OP's habits are, so I figured it was worth mentioning.

    BTW, this issue is one of the reasons I didn't buy a Plasma based set when shopping for an HDTV (i.e. fall asleep during a movie, and the Menu screen stays on for hours :eek:). :D :p
     
  14. Loa thread starter macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #14
    Hello,

    The burn in issue is one I'll keep in mind if I ever use it for more than movies/TV. Even videogames have some static elements to them...

    I'm not sure which brand/model I'll get: does anyone have suggestions?

    Loa
     
  15. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #15
    I'm not sure what your budget is, or if you're willing to shift from a 46" set. Assuming you're room dimensions are limited and 46" is the best physical size and you aren't willing to spend $2k+, then you might want to take a look at the Panasonic VIERA TC-P46S30 (46" Plasma).

    On the high end, you might want to look at Pioneer Kuro PRO-101FD (new <very hard to find>; used; 50" is the closest in size).
     
  16. Loa thread starter macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #16
    Hello,

    Thanks Nano for confirming my choice: that was the exact set I was already looking at! It seemed to be the best balance of PQ and features for my budget.

    Loa
     
  17. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #17
    Well, for what it's worth, I used to play Wii and XB360 games on my Pioneer Elite all the time and burn-in was never a problem for me. And a lot of games have static images, such as health, score, etc. I was just careful not to leave games paused on the screen for extended periods of time.
     
  18. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #18
    Man, I'm still kicking myself for selling my KURO a couple years ago. Best looking flat-panel I ever owned.
     
  19. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #19
    Well, for what it's worth, I used to play Wii and XB360 games on my Pioneer Elite all the time and burn-in was never a problem for me. And a lot of games have static images, such as health, score, etc. I was just careful not to leave games paused on the screen for extended periods of time.

    Man, I'm still kicking myself for selling my KURO a couple years ago. Best looking flat-panel I ever owned.
     
  20. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #20
    People sell their Kuros? That's crazy!

    I'm scared mine will break. Not because I'd have to buy a new TV, but because there are no new Kuros any more.
     
  21. drac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    #21
    Can't imagine selling mine either. I had it ISF calibrated and every other TV I see is just a joke compared to the Kuro.

    I'm hoping it wont break until others have caught up and overtaken were Pioneer were 3 yrs ago. Just in a 70-80" range next time.
     
  22. Axl124 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    #22
    Works perfectly for me. people say the refresh rate being slower is a problem. It will be slower and my screen only goes upto 60 Htz. I doubt many games require more than 60 FPS to run perfectly smoothly. The human eye can't really sense anything past 60-70 I believe. I believe the sacrifice of a few undetectable FPS for a 46 inch 1080P TV is acceptable. I don't think I can ever play games on a smaller computer screen anymore. Anyhow to each his own.
     
  23. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #23
    I wasn't pleased with the DPI on either a 37" or a 50" and would recommend the setup only for movies and photos.
     
  24. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #24
    Yeah. I hit a hard spot financially a couple years back and had to sell mine. I still regret it...a LOT. It was a 720p model (PRO-1150HD, I think) but it was GORGEOUS and it was also the one of the last models with Pioneer-manufactured glass. Pioneer sourced their KURO panels from Panasonic towards the end before they decided to pull out of the market completely.

    It's pretty sad that they left, but I understand their reasons. Flat panel TVs are so commoditized now that high-end sets costing 2-3x as much are very tough sells. Pioneer also had a very strict authorized dealer policy that limited their TVs (especially the Elites) to boutique dealers.

    Fujitsu (they also made high-end PDPs) pulled out of the market a couple of years prior over similar reasons. There's no money in TVs.
     
  25. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #25
    I wasn't sure, but figured this is the most likely reason, rather than upgrading this particular product. Unfortunately, I don't think you were alone on this (particularly for owners of the 1080P variants). :(
     

Share This Page