Play devil's advocate - give me reasons to NOT go mac

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ls1dreams, Feb 22, 2011.

1. ls1dreams macrumors 6502

Ok,

I have been a happy PC user for about 20 years now. As someone who knows what I'm doing, I've almost never dealt with viruses or system crashes.

My current laptop is a 5 year old acer running a dual core cpu that never, ever crashed on Windows XP.

Based on the software I run so far, these are the biggest limitations I can think of for going Mac/OSX:
    - Poker software - lots of software I run is Windows only.
    - ECUFlash/Romraider - windows only software for flashing my car's engine CPU
    - MS-Office - everyone tells me that the Mac versions have issues and are definitely slower on Mac

Software development:
    I'm a very amateur developer using PHP,mySQL,HTML,CSS for web stuff. In the past I've used the WAMP toolkit. It looks like there is a MAMP alternative for this as well. Any other major issues I might run into?

Objective C:
    I am now in a mobile type role, and it might be useful for me to have access to xcode/interface builder for doing mockups or very light builds. This is a big advantage

Hardware specific questions:
    - Magsafe - I LOVE this about mac, since I have broken the DC jack on my current laptop 2x. Are there any PC alternatives?
    - Touchpad - why are PC touchpads such crap? Of all the PC brands, which do you think has the best touchpad?
    - Display - I find that most displays are pretty caught up to apple now (at least the ones that use an LED backlight)
    - Keyboard - less picky about this as long as it's not a super cheap feel

Anything I might be missing?

My guess is that after everything is purchased, I will end up roughly with:

$500 less in my pocket vs. a PC purchase
    A smaller screen (13" vs 15")
    Same or similar specs (i5/4gb ram/etc)
    Better touchpad
    Magsafe

Sound about right?

2. greytmom macrumors 68040

greytmom