Playing youtube videos normally under TFF and the G4?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by cammykool, May 19, 2015.

  1. cammykool, May 19, 2015
    Last edited: May 19, 2015

    cammykool macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Location:
    Anaheim, California
    #1
    i have a Powerbook G4 15' 1.33 with 1.5gb of ram and 10.5.8 it seems like everyone else is using youview or programs of the sort because youtube is so sluggish. But as the linked video shows HTML5 video runs smooth as butter on my G4.. What makes mine different and why are they plying so well? by no means am i complaining but i am curious.

    Thanks!

    http://cammykool.com/stuffs/ytppc.mp4
     
  2. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #2
    I think maybe your 1.33 PB is the threshold for decent HTML5 playback - I watched the same Cranberries video on my 12" 1.33 in TFF and it stuttered terribly - however my 15" 1.25 PB played it much better with the occasional frame drop. If I don't use the HTML5 player all is good.
    The difference between my two PBs is the 1.25 has the Radeon 9600 graphics card and the 12" has the GeForce 5200.

    Most people say the graphics card makes no difference to video playback but on my machines I've found it does.

    By the way, your video file was a whopping 20Mbps 1080p mp4...my G5 fans blew like a hurricane playing it :)
     
  3. for this, May 19, 2015
    Last edited: May 19, 2015

    for this macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    #3
    <<Post deleted because I find it a bit off topic :) >>
     
  4. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #4
    Are Tiger & Leopard on different Macs - if so, what are the machines/specs?
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    What version of TenFourFox are you using?

    Note as well that HTML5 is somewhat of a different beast than Flash, which is what many YouTube videos still use.

    Kaiser (the man who makes T4Fx) has made it a point to optimize T4Fx for HTML5.
     
  6. for this macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    #6
  7. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    I found that upgrading my home G5 to a GEForce 6800 Ultra(from the stock FX5200) made a world of difference both in playing HTML5 videos on Youtube and on playing other files in VLC.
     
  8. cammykool thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Location:
    Anaheim, California
    #8
    Sorry i recorded it with my LG G3. i just tried playing it on my PB. it wasnt having it :p im on TFF 31.7.0 and i have a ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 for my GPU. videos play decently well with flash under safari too oddly enough. it plays them alomost better then my Surface Pro 1 as long as i keep it <480p
     
  9. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #9
    I'm glad someone agrees :) I felt a small drop when I went from a Rad 9600 to a FX5200 but it was a necessity as I wanted to use my 23" Cinema screen and the 9600 was the model without an ADC port.

    The difference between Radeon & GeForce cards on my Powerbooks is even more obvious.

    ----------

    You're right, that 9700 will make a world of difference.

    I've just found using Safari 4 under Tiger with Flash 9 is pretty efficient for Youtube:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=21316097#post21316097
     
  10. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #10
    I've found my DLSD Powerbooks with the 9700 do great also. My AlBooks are limited to a couple of DLSDs and a couple of early '05 12" models, so don't have any direct comparison.

    I know my last generation TiBooks(which have Radeon 9000s-32mb of VRAM in the 867 and 64mb in the 1ghz ones) really struggle with Youtube, although there are enough other bottlenecks in those systems that I'm not sure I can entirely blame it on the graphics.

    Some of the PCI Rage 128s in B&W G3s had a hardware DVD decoder-I've noticed that this makes a BIG difference in DVD playback.
     
  11. 556fmjoe macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #11
    I'm not surprised it works well. That's a very good GPU.
     
  12. cammykool thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Location:
    Anaheim, California
    #12
    i feel like i got a good deal. trading it for a HP TouchSmart with a first gen c2d and a gig of ram it had some weird issues when i got it (it wouldnt run off the battery even though the battery was charging and good a leo install fixed that) and a charger with frayed wires. its a clean Powerbook with a few dents near the charger port and it looks like something peeled off under the keyboard showing some bare medal. but its a clean machine!
     
  13. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #13
    YouView (now TFF QTE since the YouTube API change) is a necessity to get smooth 480p video playback on my iBook G4 1.33. Even on my late 2008 MacBook Air I preferred YouView over 720p HTML5 videos in Firefox just to decrease CPU/GPU usage and avoid the occasional frame drops here and there.
     
  14. cammykool thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Location:
    Anaheim, California
    #14
    i could never figure out how to get that to work as i couldnt get the video to open in quicktime as the option wasnt there
     
  15. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #15
    These three options should appear at the bottom of your right-click menu on the YouTube video page after you install QuickTime Enabler and restart.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #16
    Same here, TFF & QTE has never worked (10.5.8, QT 7.7) - TFF is always latest version but I only see the HTML5 menu:
     

    Attached Files:

    • menu.jpg
      menu.jpg
      File size:
      17.8 KB
      Views:
      217
  17. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #17
    Don't right-click on the video itself, somewhere else on the page will do fine.
     
  18. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #18
    No, just get the standard OS style menu but without any Quicktime options...another Leopard mystery I guess...
     
  19. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #19
    You sure you have it installed in your TenFourFox extensions?
     
  20. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #20
    Yes, appears to be:
     

    Attached Files:

    • QTE.jpg
      QTE.jpg
      File size:
      89.4 KB
      Views:
      72
  21. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #21
    Try reinstalling it. I just installed it on my 15" PowerBook G4 1.67 running Leopard and the latest version of TenFourFox, and the menu options show up just fine.
     
  22. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #22
    Tried reinstalling twice - first in TFF, then again downloading the .xpi in Safari then dragging into TFF - still not working.
    Maybe it's a G5 thing? I'll try again later on a Powerbook - although in the past, that didn't work either. There's always the possibility QTE likes a particular combination of Quicktime & Perian?
     
  23. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #23
    Well, tried it but doesn't work on 15" 1.25 PB (Leopard) or 12" 1.33 PB (Tiger).

    This is the correct QTE download?

    https://code.google.com/p/tenfourfox/wiki/QuickTimeEnabler
     
  24. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #24
    Cracked it!
    The problem was the TFF config file (prefs.js) - mine has been heavily modified with all the speed hacks from the forum, when I moved it, TFF builds a fresh one and the QTE menus now appears.
    Downside is, about 90% of clips Quicktime then fails to open.

    I'll stick with Webkit+CTP for video on Leopard and Safari 4 on Tiger.
    At least I know the problem now :)
     
  25. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #25
    I've actually been doing pretty well the past couple of days playing YT videos directly in TFF. I have no special plug-ins(other than ABP), although have done Eriks TFF optimization one of the computers.

    I've been using two different systems-a factory dual 1ghz Quicksilver and a Digital Audio G4. Both have 1.5gb of RAM. The QS has a Radeon 9600XT driving a ADC HD Cinema(1920x1200) plus a generic Dell 17"(1280x1024). The DA has the Sonnet dual 1.8 and is using a GEForce 4Ti(no CI support) with a single 17" ADC studio display(without looking, I think it's also 1280x1024). I get an occasional dropped frame or hesitation, but performance is otherwise good at standard def. on both computers.
     

Share This Page