Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sufii55

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 10, 2021
Please Help I'm stuck while resetting my Macbook Pro late 2011 to Mac OS Lion, it's showing can't download additional contents needed for Mac OS X, I'm also sharing at the screen I'm stuck so that it'll be easy for U guys to help me out....
IMG_20210512_062737374.jpg

It's the place where I'm stuck, I didn't took Time machine backup as I wasn't having such data to keep, tried Reinstalling Mac OS X it's showing all the time this....
IMG_20210512_014542515.jpg

Disk Utility is showing this....
IMG_20210512_063250400.jpg

Please suggest a Solution without Bootable usb or any other external device(if possible) as I'm new to Mac world....
Please help me out Guys, Thanks a Tonz

bsamcash

macrumors 65816
Jul 31, 2008
San Jose, CA
I notice your wifi signal icon is grayed out. You have to be connected to the internet. Connected to your wifi and you should be good.

NoBoMac

Staff member
Jul 1, 2014
Is this a previously owned Mac? Guessing you do not have an authorized copy of Lion (ie. it's tied to previous owner's Apple ID).

Believe you will need to order an authorization code, and the you can get the full installer.

ADD: Might want to try internet recovery mode, Cmd-Option-R at power-up.

Last edited:

Sufii55

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 10, 2021
Is this a previously owned Mac? Guessing you do not have an authorized copy of Lion (ie. it's tied to previous owner's Apple ID).

Believe you will need to order an authorization code, and the you can get the full installer.

ADD: Might want to try internet recovery mode, Cmd-Option-R at power-up.
I did tried internet recovery mode unfortunately it too didn't worked,

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
You're probably going to have to download a version of the OS that is "newer than" Lion, and then make a bootable USB installer.