Please post your MP 2008 2.8 8-core XBench test scores

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sparkie7, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. sparkie7 macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #1
    Would appreciate it if everyone could post their full system test results. Just want to check if my machine is within performance specs. thanks :D
     
  2. POLOgt macrumors member

    POLOgt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
  3. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #3
    thank you. could you please post the full breakdown (ie with sub results under each category) thanks
     
  4. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #4
    Here are mine. 2.8/12gig/RAID0-3wd640s/ati2600.

    Results 210.04
    System Info
    Xbench Version 1.3
    System Version 10.5.6 (9G55)
    Physical RAM 12288 MB
    Model MacPro3,1
    Drive Type WDC WD6400AAKS-00A7B0
    CPU Test 180.97
    GCD Loop 320.13 16.87 Mops/sec
    Floating Point Basic 156.12 3.71 Gflop/sec
    vecLib FFT 120.37 3.97 Gflop/sec
    Floating Point Library 234.45 40.82 Mops/sec
    Thread Test 731.31
    Computation 997.57 20.21 Mops/sec, 4 threads
    Lock Contention 577.25 24.83 Mlocks/sec, 4 threads
    Memory Test 196.97
    System 268.87
    Allocate 274.58 1.01 Malloc/sec
    Fill 241.31 11733.15 MB/sec
    Copy 296.58 6125.70 MB/sec
    Stream 155.41
    Copy 155.69 3215.72 MB/sec
    Scale 156.03 3223.52 MB/sec
    Add 154.91 3299.89 MB/sec
    Triad 155.01 3316.04 MB/sec
    Quartz Graphics Test 251.80
    Line 211.51 14.08 Klines/sec [50% alpha]
    Rectangle 257.85 76.98 Krects/sec [50% alpha]
    Circle 212.19 17.30 Kcircles/sec [50% alpha]
    Bezier 214.96 5.42 Kbeziers/sec [50% alpha]
    Text 530.13 33.16 Kchars/sec
    OpenGL Graphics Test 214.32
    Spinning Squares 214.32 271.88 frames/sec
    User Interface Test 348.40
    Elements 348.40 1.60 Krefresh/sec
    Disk Test 101.54
    Sequential 175.05
    Uncached Write 193.47 118.79 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Write 181.47 102.68 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Uncached Read 127.03 37.18 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Read 232.59 116.90 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Random 71.51
    Uncached Write 27.14 2.87 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Write 249.45 79.86 MB/sec [256K blocks]
    Uncached Read 102.38 0.73 MB/sec [4K blocks]
    Uncached Read 187.90 34.87 MB/sec [256K blocks]
     
  5. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #5
    sorry that is horrible formatting.. try this.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #6
    Here are mine. No Raid set:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #7
    Hey OddThomas.

    I love that Koontz series. Just finished reading Brother Odd a couple weeks ago.

    Look at the drive speed of your drive. Is that the RAID or drive doing that?
     
  8. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #9
    YES! Love the Brother Odd :) I wish Koontz would write the 3rd in his Frankenstein series.. he wrote 2 then stopped.

    Yes that has to be the RAID0. i use the WD640s, which are really good, fast drives, but not that fast.
     
  9. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #10
    looks like sboerup has the same drives in RAID0. his are a bit faster.
     
  10. osin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
  11. Play4keeps macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    #12
    Here are mine:D
    225.85
     

    Attached Files:

  12. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #13
    ok, you have a raptor... so you don't count :) very nice.
     
  13. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #14
    Doesn't it drive you nuts to see someone's similar system with better numbers, then discover it's because a RAID array (or really faster HDD) was used? ;) :p
     
  14. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #15
    I thought you must have a 3.0 or 3.2 octo as your results are much faster (bar your HD) than others. Looked at your sig... yep 3.0. Slap a fast SSD and you will boost your performance score by another 100 points easy :D
     
  15. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #16
    Thanks everyone for posting so far. Please keep them coming.

    Here are mine. One with the HD shipped (a Western Digital Caviar 320) and the other with a OCZ Vertex 250.

    Looking at everyone's scores to mine, my machine seems to have very low readings for the Quartz Graphics Test. Where my Text score is in the 200's where others' are in the upper 500's. Any ideas why this is? :rolleyes: unless people have the 8800GT (or better graphics card). I just have the standard 2600 XT
     

    Attached Files:

  16. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #17
    I think my low quartz scores are due to the 30 ACD I'm hooked up to. more pixels etc to calculate and project
     
  17. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #18
    Sorry about that. I should have read the thread title more carefully.

    I'm going to wait on HDD upgrades until SSD prices fall further. I might get one as a boot/app drive when the price/capacity is better.
     
  18. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #19
    no worries. yeh, they are dropping weekly. good news :D

    btw what size display do you have your MP hooked up to?
     
  19. sneezymarble macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #20
    If you want a better comparison of compute, memory and GPU performance then you should be running Xbench without the hard drive test. Various hard drive setups can, evidenced by the results in this thread, have a pretty big impact on an Xbench score and that doesn't necessarily translate to performance. That isn't to say that it doesn't translate to better performance in some applications; it certainly does.

    The difference can most certainly be attributed to different graphics cards. Here are the results from my 8800GTX 768MB. :D

    [​IMG]
     
  20. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #21
    those are most excellent Hackintosh results.

    I have heard good things about the OCZ SSD. What is your boot time? Also heard good things about the Intel SSD.. i am also waiting for prices to drop... need to put food on the table for the kids :)
     
  21. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #22
    you refering to my XBench scores? I dont have a Hackintosh. I gotta real Mac Pro :p

    I haven't timed my boot time. i need a stop watch, maybe use my iPhonestop watch thingy. i'll do it tomorrow

    btw what size display do you have your MP hooked up to?
     
  22. sneezymarble macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #23
    I think he was referring to the Quartz Graphics Test results I posted. I was addressing an earlier post of yours in which you were questioning why your Quartz performance was lower than other machines and my point was that, you're right, your scores are low because of your graphics card.
     
  23. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #24
    24" Samsung running 1920x1200. When I am video editing, I have a 22" samsung that I use as my canvas monitor.
     
  24. sparkie7 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #25
    thanks, yeh i think its my 30" thats slowing down my Quartz scores. btw what graphics cards do you have in your MP?
     

Share This Page