Polished Trackpad, HELP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by R.R.Mac, Apr 28, 2007.

  1. R.R.Mac macrumors regular

    R.R.Mac

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Guildford, England
    #1
    OK i have managed after six years to compleatly polish my trackpad so much that it is bairly usable. I polished it compleatly after one year but it is bairly usable now. Without replacing the trackpad, is there anything i can do to, make it feel nicer (everytime i run my finger along it, it is not very responsive and i feels horrible!!!) thanks
     
  2. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  3. johnee macrumors 6502a

    johnee

    #3
    what exactly do you mean by "polish"? what chemicals / material did you use? How hard did you rub it, and how often? (oh i better stop before i get banned)

    Did it slowly degrade over time or just suddenly become responsive?
     
  4. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #4
    I think he means that over six years of use the trackpad has become polished.
     
  5. JPT macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #5
    Yeah my teachers iBook is the same way. You know when you use something for a long time over many months-years and it gets all smooth and shiny? Same thing happens to trackpads. Mine is starting to...
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Mine is fairly polished also, but why do you find it unusable? I haven't appreciated any real change in functionality as it polished.
     
  7. R.R.Mac thread starter macrumors regular

    R.R.Mac

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Guildford, England
    #7
    what i mean by polished is that after 6 years i have polished it with my figers, it happens over time. I am finding it unusasable because i run my finger over it and the cursor hardly moves at all, also its really difficult to actually move my finger over it.
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Do you exfoliate? :eek: Unless you have a lot of callous tissue... I still don't see why this should make using the trackpad any different.
     
  9. .JahJahwarrior. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    #9
    I've put on the total BSE cover....it gives the trackpad the glossy feel to it. I hate it when it's humid or hot, because then my finger doesn't slide along it at all, if I apply any pressure at all. It's annoying. I think a polished trackpad might not feel quit the same, but if it is, then I'm sorry :( I put this glossy thing on to keep that from happening to me :)
     
  10. johnee macrumors 6502a

    johnee

    #10
    Oh :D

    not having my mac yet, I have my IBM laptop, which has the mouse stick. I hate the track pad and turn it off. not sure what i'll do when I get my mbp :confused:
     
  11. R.R.Mac thread starter macrumors regular

    R.R.Mac

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Guildford, England
    #11
    ok so my question is what can i do because i have to use my laptop everyday on the move and using the trackpad is really difficult to use. Is there something i can put over the trackpad or will i have to replace it?
     
  12. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #12
    Use a mouse :p
     
  13. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
  14. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #14
    Apple might replace it - for a fee, of course. give 'em a call. also you might consider a small, portable mouse since you're on the go a lot. Logitech's V270 is a small BT mouse but one with a wire or dongle might also work - i.e., the Logitech VX Revolution is designed for laptops.
     
  15. Gymnut macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    #15
    Just out of curiosity, what model laptop is it?
     
  16. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #16
    6 years vintage sounds like a G3 iBook.
     
  17. R.R.Mac thread starter macrumors regular

    R.R.Mac

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Guildford, England
    #17
    Yes its a iBook G3 second generation one (not the blueberry or tango or whatever it was).:) Nearly in Mint condition except for my apple colour which is blue and my trackpad which as you know is polished:mad: :mad: :mad: . Its an amazing laptop though and i am NOT going to replace it unless i cant do the trackpad

    but i have replaced the hard drive and the ram to give me a better laptop and i have the latest version of OS X.
     
  18. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #18
    My MacBook suffered from the infamous discoloration, and when the Genius replaced the top cover (took her 10 minutes), that included the trackpad as well. Assuming the G3 iBooks are the same, I can't imagine that the repair would be that costly.
     
  19. R.R.Mac thread starter macrumors regular

    R.R.Mac

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Guildford, England
    #19
    do you think i could do anything else than replace it, i mean put something over it or something, does anyone have any ideas?
     
  20. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #20
    How ironic...

    I was thinking about how my sister's iBook G3 track pad got polished/worn out just like the OP is describing. So I was putting down some Scotch tape down on my MacBook Pro's trackpad to prevent them from happening. I have a V270 mouse, but I keep using the trackpad randomly.

    Personally, I have found no performance difference when using a worn out track pad vs. a normal one.

    Anyways, I suggest covering the track pad in tape and see how that works out for you.
     
  21. Neptunian macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #21
    I'm totally agree wit u. Get a mouse. It can't be harder to operate using a mouse compared to a trackpad, right?
     
  22. R.R.Mac thread starter macrumors regular

    R.R.Mac

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Guildford, England
    #22

    i dont have much space to use a mouse i am in compact areas so it makes it very difficult, i will try the selotape. There is ALOT of diffrence from a new one and a polished one, trust me!!!
     
  23. Samwise592 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #23
    well, since the G3 wont be able to run leopard when it comes out... and since you seem performance minded... i would say eather get a small mouse or deal with it until leopard comes out and get yourself a new MB, you deserve it after 6 years. :cool:

    It's not worth it to put any more money into something that wont run an operating system that will be out in under 4 months.
     
  24. R.R.Mac thread starter macrumors regular

    R.R.Mac

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Guildford, England
    #24
    what cant iBook G3's or iBook G4's run leapod??:confused:

    I am trying the selotape and its quite good actually, feels a bit weird and when you overlap it is very odd but overall its quite good, not good as new but good enough:) . Thanks
     
  25. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #25
    The official requirements of leopard have not been made public, as far as I know.

    The minimum requirements are almost certainly greater than or equal to the requirements of Tiger -- i.e. Macs without built-in Firewire will not officially be supported (although by hack, almost any Mac that can run OS X will run Tiger).

    Some people have voiced the opinion that the G3 processor era will be dropped with Leopard. Really, the only thing that differentiates a G3 and G4 in code execution, for the most part, is that the G4 supports a set of vector processing operations called Altivec™. The chances of Leopard relying heavily on Altivec, however, are rather low, considering it does not exist on Intel processors. ;)

    Given that the G5s are still relatively recent, there is almost no chance they will not be supported.

    So basically, the only reason Leopard would not work on a G3, or a G4 for that matter, would be if Apple made it not work on them because they felt they would perform too poorly. If that happens, I'm almost certain a hack will surface, like XPostFacto, that allows Leopard to run on G3s and G4s.

    Leopard is widely expected by the geek community to run fairly well on G4, G5, Core, and Core 2 processors with adequate RAM, but the final word has to be Apple's.
     

Share This Page