Port forwarding not working on Airport Extreme. (I've tried everything!)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Guy691, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. Guy691 macrumors newbie

    Guy691

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #1
    This has been plaguing me for years.

    I'm an avid gamer and want to set up a server to play with some of my friends. I've set up port forwarding but it still won't work. Even on Blockland (Doesn't require port forwarding) it still doesn't work! I'm positive that I've done it correctly.

    SPECS:
    LAN IP: 10.0.1.1
    Internet: Comcast
    Version: Airport utility 6.0


    Any help would be really appreciated. Reply if you need more specs.

    Chat on steam: http://www.steamcommunity.com/id/DatGuai
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. Guy691 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Guy691

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #3
    Do you mean turning the device off and on again?
    It's been a long time since I've messed with it, so I don't remember if I did or not.

    If you mean something else, please tell me how to do it.

    EDIT: I may have restarted it while having problems with my internet one time.
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    I mean, hard reboot is turning it off and back on and then reseting the firmware to factory settings. After reinstall the newer firmware.
     
  5. Guy691, Sep 16, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2012

    Guy691 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Guy691

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #5
    Me and my mom are kind of hesitant to do that, is there another way?
     
  6. zhenya macrumors 603

    zhenya

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #6
    How are you trying to access your server from outside your network? Do you have your public IP address? In the long run on a residential Comcast account you will also need to configure a dynamic DNS service since your IP address is not static. Using the address alone is sufficient for testing, however.

    What are the port forwarding settings you've used?

    Obviously it isn't set up properly or it would be working. ;)
     

Share This Page