iPad Pro Possible eSim on new iPad pros?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by chfilm, Oct 16, 2018.

  1. chfilm macrumors 68000

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Hi,
    I’m currently considering to get a data plan for an esim for my Apple Watch 4 with my phone contract.
    My current iPad is on a data plan that wk run out in January.

    Annoyingly enough, Vodafone Germany lets you chose between a multisim contract (which I could use with my iPad), or an eSim for the Apple Watch.

    Are there any rumors about a possible eSim on the new iPad Pro? Is it realistic?
    It would be perfect cause I’d just have to get one new contract instead of one for e sim and one physical one...
     
  2. CB98 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    #2
    Correct me if I’m wrong, but the current iPad pros have Apple SIMs, which I think is the same as an eSIM?
     
  3. KrisLord macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    #3
    That was my thought when reading the OPs post too.
     
  4. rui no onna macrumors 603

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #4
    Not quite. The Apple SIM is in Nano SIM form factor while eSIM is embedded. Mind, the iPads were actually the first Apple product to support eSIM (iPad Pro 9.7 back in March 2016).

    For iPads:

    Apple SIM:
    iPad Air 2
    iPad Pro 12.9 (2015, 1st gen)
    iPad (2017, 5th gen)
    iPad (2018, 6th gen)

    eSIM:
    iPad Pro 9.7 (2016)
    iPad Pro 10.5
    iPad Pro 12.9 (2017, 2nd gen)
     
  5. chfilm thread starter macrumors 68000

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Uhhhm ok, can anyone please explain to me how I can use an eSim contract with my current iPad Pro 10.5?
    I currently have a vodaphone simcard Inside, but if there’s another way to use eSim already it would be great!!
     
  6. rui no onna macrumors 603

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #6
    Unfortunately, that's dependent on carrier support. For example, in the US, one can sign up directly with AT&T, T-Mobile and Sprint from Settings - Cellular but Verizon doesn't work. Need to get a physical SIM for Verizon.
     
  7. CB98 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    #7
    Just take out the Vodafone SIM and go into the settings where you would normally set up a SIM - the carriers you can sign up to will be listed there, but as the poster above says these are limited.
     
  8. chfilm thread starter macrumors 68000

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Thanks for the information, yea sadly vodafone is not supported in Germany. Maybe it will change with the new ipad if it will have a real eSim and not this apple sim, as Apple Watch which has one is already supported.
     
  9. rui no onna macrumors 603

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #9
    Again, current iPad Pros already have eSIM. The Apple SIM card is used on non-Pros. However, particularly since eSIM is embedded and provisioning is done through firmware, one is at the mercy of carrier whims for support.
     
  10. chfilm thread starter macrumors 68000

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    That is so obscure, why would Vodafone support it on Apple Watch, but not on an iPad?
     
  11. rui no onna macrumors 603

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #11
    Who knows? It's the same situation with Verizon in the US.
     
  12. bradbomb macrumors 6502

    bradbomb

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    Yes the newer iPads have embedded SIMs, but they aren't the same as the ones in the new iPhones and the Apple Watch. The embedded sims in the iPads are embedded Apple SIMs. They are different to the eSIMs in the watch and phones since they are still specifically Apple SIMs, just embedded.

    https://www.apple.com/ipad/apple-sim/
     
  13. chfilm thread starter macrumors 68000

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #13
    Ok so this is how I got it. No real eSim in the current iPads. That’s why I’m asking. Maybe they’ll change it with this year’s generation. Let’s hope.
     
  14. Peter K. macrumors 6502a

    Peter K.

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal / Philly
    #14
    What, specifically, is the difference between an embedded Apple SIM and an embedded “real” SIM?

    I’m being sincere, as I understood there to be no difference.
     
  15. bradbomb macrumors 6502

    bradbomb

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #15
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_SIM

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subscriber_identity_module#eSIM

    The new eSIMs in phones are a new standard adopted that allow remote provisioning by the providers that support them. The Apple SIM and the embedded Apple SIM also allow for remote provisioning, but are proprietary of Apple and Apple controls them and makes deals with carriers to support data plans on them.
     
  16. scotio200 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    #16
    Looks like they have esims in the new pros.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. chfilm thread starter macrumors 68000

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #17
    Yup they do! My prayers have been answered!
     
  18. bradbomb macrumors 6502

    bradbomb

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #18
    Now if only we could still get the free T-Mobile 200 MBs a month plan transferred to the new ones
     
  19. gottafly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #19
    Just use one of the T-mobile or Apple nano-sims that has been activated on the 200mb free-for-life “plans” and pop it into the new iPad Pro. Works like a charm.
     
  20. bradbomb macrumors 6502

    bradbomb

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #20
    There are many threads elsewhere that when T-Mobile discontinued their plans, the plans are tied to SIM and IMEI of device. If they go into a new device, the plan doesn't work. I obviously have not tried it as I didnt order a new iPad yet. I have the plan still on my iPad 4th Generation (T-Mobile SIM) and on my iPad Pro 12.9" (2015) (Apple SIM).
     
  21. gottafly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #21
    “Tied to the sim”, yes. “Tied to the IMEI”, not based on my experience. I’ve used the same 5GB/5mo. Promo sims on T-mobile sims and Apple nano-sims in multiple devices (ipads) and even in a T-mobile Hotspot. YMMV
     
  22. bradbomb macrumors 6502

    bradbomb

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #22
    Yes, but your plan is a paid plan. I'm talking about a free plan. Look at this old thread and you'll see plenty back and forth where people commented that moving the SIM killed their free 200MB plan

    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...0mb-of-free-data-for-new-ipad-owners.2044833/
     
  23. LibbyLA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    #23
    This is my first cellular iPad. I found this article about cell plans:

    https://www.imore.com/which-ipad-carrier-and-plan-should-you-get

    With the eSIM, can I get both an AT&T $29.99 unlimited plan and a $10/5 G/5 month T-Mobile plan on the eSIM or do I need to put one plan on the eSIM and use a regular nano SIM for the other? (Why, you ask? Because I probably won’t need unlimited for two or three months during the summer so I might want to use T-Mo and I’d like to try it to see if it works in the two places I really need cell service).

    AT&T will be my primary carrier. I do have a SIM that should work so I could do T-Mo in the eSIM and AT&T with a nano SIM, but if I can do both on the eSIM and switch, I would like to do that.
     

Share This Page