Possible to enlarge Mac Pro's SSD?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by yalag, Aug 18, 2014.

  1. yalag macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #1
    Possible to enlarge Mac Pro's SSD? My mac pro came with only 250 SSD and external drives doesn't really help. There are so many things that just needs to be in the main HD like apps and stuff.

    Is there a way to extend it? Do I just buy a new ssd and plug it in?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What Mac Pro model do you have? The "older" cheesegrate model or the new round one?

    If it is the older, it is easy to replace the 250 GB S-ATA SSD with a new 500 GB or even 1 TB SDD.
     
  3. yalag thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #3
    Sorry the new one.
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    Yes, you have to wait for a 3rd party solution, however, eBay does have Nmp SSDs from time to time.

    Lou
     
  5. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #6
    I noticed that the other day on a browse. Who is essentially scrapping 9-month-old computers for parts, since you can't buy the SSDs separately?
     
  6. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #7
    My guess is they are Apple Authorized resellers/repair centers selling Apple parts thru ebay. Or in some cases, they are end users who over bought/need money so selling the drive to downgrade to a smaller size (I almost made a trade once with a seller on here to swap my small SSD + cash for their larger SSD).
     
  7. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #8
    Ah. I wasn't aware AA resellers could do that.
     
  8. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #9
    Let's just say, if the money is right people will do anything.....
     
  9. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #10
    Considering the part is user serviceable, Apple should really be selling them themselves.

    Kind of lame.
     
  10. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #11
    ^^^^The SSD on MacBooks are also user serviceable. Third Party sellers supply replacement SSDs for those applications, not Apple. I have a Transcend SSD in my MBA.

    Lou
     
  11. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #12
    The weird thing is according to Apple it is not user serviceable, but is user serviceable on the Mac Pros, even though they sell SSDs for neither.

    So weird.
     
  12. handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #13
    Jump over to ebay. 512 costs around $400. 1tb is around $700. Avoid anything but Apple u less you want sata.
     
  13. Celedral macrumors 6502

    Celedral

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #14
    Still find it ridiculous that the 6core model has the same 256gb as the 4core model. I would of been totally satisfied with 512GB.
     
  14. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #15
    ^^^^512GB and 1TB are both factory options on the 6 core model.

    Lou
     
  15. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #16
    256,512 and 1Tb are options on all the nMP.
     
  16. vetman35 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #17
    I bought a 1TB off eBay and it works great in my nMP. Easy to install. It is a tight fit down in the socket.
     
  17. lbotez macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    #18
    I saw those for $799. So they work? Though someone told me on the Macbook Pro site that they are slower than the ones for the mac pro.

    I'll have to wait. I think it was ridiculous for Apple to put such an ineffective drive on their 6-core machine; you can't put hardly anything on it. I had to move off all my stuff that was on my previous machine onto an external SSD... which is stupid.

    They also look slightly wider than the 256gb one...


    Prices on these things are dropping; Apple should bump the basic machines up to 512gb... for what what you have pay for these machines...
     
  18. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #19
    So why didn't you get a larger SSD when you bought it? 256GB is more than enough for people/companies that do everything from network storage. Therefore, they don't need larger drives. Makes sense to me!

    Also, are those OWC drives out yet? I thought they where making an aftermarket upgrade.
     
  19. lbotez, Aug 28, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2014

    lbotez macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    #20
    I got a $700 discount to buy a stock machine... and I have a limited budget. that's why. And I don't do everything from network storage. Are you kidding?

    Just found it incredibly annoying that I couldn't move over all my core data from my mac mini to this monster of a machine because I didn't have enough space!

    Apple's migratory tool sucks because it doesn't let you select exactly what you want to copy over... I did the Applications and moved the documents and downloads on the external SSD drive, but a lot of my library data doesn't move over.

    Why they even have a 256GB storage unit on a machine like this is absurd. It's a joke! My laptop has 256GB (but I don't use that 85% of the time). 512GB would have been fine.

    I've had this machine for a week now, and am still having to use both computers to get work done.

    I have a 1T samsung SSD external... but still.

    BTW, this 6-core mac pro is amazing! Whoooooh!
     

Share This Page