Possible to figure out if on 850mhz AT&T network?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by paulyras, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. paulyras macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #1
    Hi there,

    I have been noticing wildly different data speeds depending on location recently. This got me thinking about whether it has to do with being on 850mhz network in some places and not others.

    I put the phone in field test mode, but the section which would probably tell me that info just has 'unknown' for all of the fields.

    It's mostly out of curiosity, but does anyone know of another way to figure this out?

    Thx,

    p
     
  2. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Go to the folowing:

    UMTS Cell Env > UMTS RR INFO

    Uplink and Downlink should be in the 4000 range if your on 850
     
  3. paulyras thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    Gotcha. 4157 and 4382. Sounds like 850 where I am right now I guess? Thanks for the insight.

    P
     
  4. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Yes thats 850mhz



     
  5. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    Huh, look at that...4159 for me.

    That answers my question as to why I began getting 3G at my house. I always suspected they turned on the 850mhz network but now I know for sure.
     
  6. Hardcoredan52 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    #6
    are you sure those numbers mean 850.. I've been getting those numbers for the past 4 months since I've moved to Tampa, Fl. Right now I'm getting uplink 4153 and downlink 4378... Anyway I'll always invite a better connection...
     
  7. hsk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    there is a post around here somewhere from a member who posted all the possible numbers and how to figure it out. I get 1032 when on 850mHz, 562 when on 1900mHz and something like 65562 when on EDGE.
     
  8. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #8
    I live in Stone Mountain (15 minutes from Downtown Atlanta) and I now have Full 3G bars in my basement (didn't before). My Uplink is:862 and Downlink is:1087. So does that mean I am not in 850 mhz area? If not, why do I have full 3G bars now?
     
  9. hsk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #9
    Yes, 1087 is 850mHz.
     
  10. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #10
    Ah ok! Thanks!
     
  11. Scooterman1 macrumors 6502a

    Scooterman1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #11
  12. swr2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #12
  13. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    Thats 1900 mhz

     
  14. Brandonsc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #14
    what is Uplink 9490 Downlink 9890?

    EDIT: I'm 1900mhz
     
  15. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  16. Eric L macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #16
    Why would mine say "Unknown" in all of those fields?
     
  17. intrepid00 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #17
    Wondering the same. Are you jailbroken?
     
  18. BullittMustang macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #18
    Ok, If I put the phone in field test mode, how do you get it back to normal?
     
  19. swr2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #19
    Just go back to your home screen.
     
  20. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #20
    hmm, interesting thread. Apparently I'm on 850 at my home north of Boston. Didn't know they'd rolled it out here.
     
  21. Eric L macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #21
    Nope, just the tethering hack.
     
  22. rburly macrumors 6502a

    rburly

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    Florida
  23. sdsvtdriver macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #23
    850
    Channels 4357-4458 /5

    Channels 1007, 1012, 1032, 1037, 1062, 1087 /5+670.1

    1900
    Channels 9662-9938 /5

    Channels 412, 437, 462, 487, 512, 537, 562, 587, 612, 637, 662, 687 /5+1850.1
     
  24. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #24
    Your 3G (UMTS) RR Info will display "unknown" when you are on (GSM) EDGE.
    If you are on 3G, all the EDGE (GSM) RR Info will say "Unknown".
     
  25. Jumpie macrumors 6502a

    Jumpie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #25
    Mine is: Uplink 37 and Downlink 437

    So whats' that mean?

    ok that was on wifi... retesting now: still 37 and 437
     

Share This Page