Post editing problem

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by StellarVixen, Nov 1, 2018.

  1. StellarVixen macrumors 65816

    StellarVixen

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Location:
    Earth
    #1
    It appears that once the threads are automatically merged, there is an option to edit only the first thread when you click "Edit" button.

    Is there an option to edit entire post when merged? If now, will be there that option anytime soon?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
  3. StellarVixen thread starter macrumors 65816

    StellarVixen

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Location:
    Earth
    #3
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I just did a test and I can edit both my comments here (without my moderator privileges).

    Code:
    test one
    [doublepost=1541098870][/doublepost]test two
    So you click the edit button and you cannot edit that "With font rendering tuned OFF." section at all?

    Code:
    Sometimes, all that you need is Digital Color Meter, to zoom into fonts to see how are they rendered:
    This looks like full RGB subpixel antialiasing to me. [ATTACH=full]800196[/ATTACH]
    
    With font antialiasing engine turned on.
    [doublepost=1541066648][/doublepost]With font rendering tuned OFF.
    
    [ATTACH=full]800197[/ATTACH]
     
  5. StellarVixen thread starter macrumors 65816

    StellarVixen

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    My apologies, I fixed it! Text from first and second thread was all on the same line, that's what tricked me.
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    No problem... glad you got it figured out. :)
     
  7. a2jack macrumors member

    a2jack

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #7
    I am having problems starting my posts in preview. I ended up with double pix and the edit button disappeared.

    What is the proper "step by step" to post with pix? I'm just dragging them in now. Is there a better way?
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    https://forums.macrumors.com/account/preferences

    Go to this link and make sure Use rich text editor... is checked. If that is checked, you should be able to just drag the image in.

    How large in MB is the image?

    Screen Shot 2019-01-17 at 5.28.46 AM.png
     
  9. a2jack macrumors member

    a2jack

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #9
    WB. Thank you for responding.

    Pix sizes are all low in MB. Most of these are now being posted in the aircraft forum, and I have a few more to post.

    I went up on the link and all is well. so It's "Pilot Error" for sure. LOL

    Guess it's just me getting used to the site, but I note many, threads on here with no pix at all.

    Is there a better way then dragging ? A2

    IMG_1681.jpg
     
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    That always works well for me. Could it be you are posting, then editing the post and trying to then add a photo?

    When editing a post, you need to click More Options at the bottom to get back to the interface that will let you drag and drop.
     
  11. a2jack, Jan 18, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019

    a2jack macrumors member

    a2jack

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #11
    WB. So, do I write the post... Click on options... drag in the photos... Then hit post reply ?

    That did not work. LOL What are the steps right from the start ? I get a no upload box here .
     
  12. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #12
    You would only need to do that if you are trying to add a photo by editing a post you already made.
     
  13. a2jack macrumors member

    a2jack

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #13
    WB. So then, what are the correct steps to post to a thread , with pix, or reply to an individual post, ? A2
     
  14. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #14
    Just click the reply button to quote the post, then type your comment. Then drag and drop the photo from your Desktop into the white space of the post and wait a moment for it to upload, the click post reply.

    Could the problem be that the image you want to load is in Photos app or something and not on the Desktop?
     
  15. a2jack macrumors member

    a2jack

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #15
    WB. Thanks for sticking in here with me. Do believe I have it now. LOL A2

    Test.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page