Post Your Wifi Connection Speeds

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by Macman45, Feb 25, 2014.

  1. Macman45, Feb 25, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2014

    Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #1
    As the title says...Only wifi...Mac's Phones iPads etc. Heres mine on my rMBP:

    My IP5s and iPad
     

    Attached Files:

  2. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #2
    This is my PC over Wi-Fi. I'm paying for 7 mpbs (max in my area) and often get these awful speeds. CenturyLink is TERRIBLE.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    I really feel your pain...that's truly terrible, no other ISP in your area?
     
  4. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #4
    It's awful, I think it should be against some law to have speeds this much under the price that we're paying for. There are other ISPs in my area but they're either just as awful, or their customer service and downtime makes it not worth it.
     
  5. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    I guess we here in the UK are lucky...my package is broadband only, gives me 125 down and 11 up, and seldom misses a beat now that infrastructure upgrades have been completed.

    They do a 60 a 30 down as well, but I've got do used to this that I couldn't go back. Before Virgin a Media cabled the lane...I had Talk Talk. 4 down if I was lucky, AND they wound up throttling me too...when Lion came out it took me two days to download it.:eek:

    This us the fastest consumer broadband in the UK, but it isn't cheap £39 per month, but worth it In my opnion. I hope you get a decent provider soon.
     
  6. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #6
    Is there a satellite option in your neck of the woods? Just got to thinking as there are parts of the UK mostly in national parks etc. where cabling isn't allowed. Folks there use Sky which seems to work a lot better than your present speeds.
     
  7. Zaap macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    Yes, but over wifi? What's the speed directly from the modem? There could be all kinds of external reasons for sucky wifi speeds, including crap hardware at both ends.
     
  8. carjakester macrumors 68020

    carjakester

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Location:
    Midwest
  9. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #9
    There is, I haven't looked into it though. You are getting great speeds! 125 down and 11 up is fantastic. :D

    The speeds directly from the modem are around 3 to 4 mbps. I've been needing to upgrade the router for a while now, it's been around for a couple years now...
     
  10. CalmEnvy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #11
    [​IMG]

    Just signed up for VMedia here in Ontario, Canada. Paying for 25MBPs max download and 2MBPs max upload. Pretty bang on there and for $39.95 with no download limit, can't complain :)
     
  11. Zaap macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    [​IMG]
    On my Note Pro 12.2 at work. Surprisingly fast upload speed but then wired which I use mostly is insanely fast here.
     
  12. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #13
    I'm happy but they are increasing our speeds again, 152 DL don't know about the upload but it should be around 15:). I don't get 152 though..why not 155 or 150?
     

    Attached Files:

  13. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #14
    Jealous. I'd die if I got an email from CenturyLink saying the same thing! :D
     
  14. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #15
    The sattelite option may be your only other alternative unless ISP's have plans to cable your area? I'm guessing you're out in the sticks?

    I'm ind of, and up to 2 years ago was stuck with copper wire only. I cobbled together a dish / sky system until Virgin cabled the lane....we didn't even have gas here until 4 years ago.....now it seems Virgin are just hammering home their advantage....BT can only provide 30 down ( I know, fine in your situation) so they keep ramping our speed up.

    I can download, verify and install a copy of Mavericks in 12 mins.!

    ----------

    BTW

    The downside to all this is that friends know I have fast BB and frequently drop over to DL stuff...:D
     
  15. gibbz macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
  16. three macrumors 6502a

    three

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Washington State
    #17
    I'll call around and do some research and see if the other ISPs have improved. I'll also check out the satellite ISP in the process. Another major ISP in my area is Charter Communications (cable company) which I switched from years ago due to crappy service quality. They seem to offer a 30 down 4 up plan in my area which has improved since we last had them. I might have to give them a chance again. We'll see though.

    Awesome that they're working and actively improving the lines and your speeds! Those speeds are pretty fast! :D
     
  17. iopkiets macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    new york
    #18
    It is a shame to post my speed, god, I can't bear it anymore!!!!
     
  18. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #19
    Well, the guy a couple of posts above is with them, and seems to get way better speeds than yours. Virgin used to be called cbletel, and hey were the laughing stock of everybody, crap phone crap BB, crap TV...then Beardy Branson bought them and they are number 1 in the UK.

    Guy must have spent a fortune on infrastructure , but it's sure paid off.
     
  19. thatoneguy82 macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
  20. dannyyankou macrumors 603

    dannyyankou

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #21
    Verizon LTE, White Plains, NY. I was on a moving bus and that may explain the low upload speeds, but you get the idea.

    Edit: Whoops, didn't see the title said wifi. It's faster than my wifi network anyway, so I don't care, haha
     

    Attached Files:

  21. mobilemesam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Bratislava
    #22
    MacBook Air 13" 2013 & the same as my iMac 27" 2013
    [​IMG]
     
  22. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #23
    After the recent increase ( free ) to 160 DL, I wasn't happy with the wifi speeds...I really shouldn't complain as I was getting 60+ DL on my phone, but I switched the 5GHZ channel to 40 and now get the speeds in the image. That's in bed, under the duvet too!:) The image is from my IP5S....My rMBP is pulling in 150+!
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL

Share This Page