Power Adapter Extension Cable included?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Wildkraut, Nov 6, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Wildkraut, Nov 6, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2016

    Wildkraut macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Hmmm...
    ...looks like the Power Adapter Extension Cable comes with the MacBook Pro 2016.


    watch @ 1:50

    Anyone can verify?
     
  2. apfelmann macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #2
    in 1 out of 1000 boxes there's an hidden iphone 7 underneath too!
     
  3. Mildredop macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    #3
    You should go ahead and watch and go ahead and buy one and go ahead and open it and go ahead and find out for yourself.

    Go ahead and try.

    "It uses a version of Watch OS to go ahead and run." What does that even mean?!
     
  4. konstantin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    #4
    Quick question: Since the extension cable is not included anylonger, can I just use the extension cable that came with my Macbook Air (2011)? Or are these different in any way?
    Thanks!
     
  5. Hyloba macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    #5
    I heard the cable houses in the MBP itself, though it is glued to the motherboard with proprietary glue. You will need some proprietary glue remover, only sold at Apple for 20$. Damn money milkers!
     
  6. stockscalper macrumors 6502a

    stockscalper

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Location:
    Area 51
    #6
    Supposedly those cables will work.
     
  7. hj576 macrumors regular

    hj576

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #7
    Some one told me there is a pot of gold in there as well if you look hard enough
     
  8. speedbumpnv macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #8
    The 12" MacBook didn't come with an extension cable either. I use one from an older machine just fine. The charging block is still modular and can accept all the different plug adapters and cables.
     
  9. AceFernalld macrumors 65816

    AceFernalld

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #9
    I can verify this is not the case.
     
  10. Wildkraut thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    Thx for verifying!
     
  11. Balaamsdonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    Washington
    #11
    Provided the brick didn't change this is great news.
     
  12. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
  13. Smoovejayy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #13
    Great. I will just use one of the extra ones I currently have.
     
  14. Baldrake macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Location:
    Great White North
    #14
    The power cable (at least the one sold standalone) is 2m long, so you may not actually need the extension cable.
     
  15. mac_in_tosh macrumors regular

    mac_in_tosh

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Location:
    Earth
    #15
    Sarcasm alert - You see, Apple is on a tight budget as they are barely profitable, so they had to cut corners by not including the extension cable.

    Or maybe this is another example of their "courage."
     
  16. stockscalper macrumors 6502a

    stockscalper

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Location:
    Area 51
    #16
    I saw a video review where the reviewer said his old cord worked so that's what I'm basing my comment on.
     
  17. el-John-o macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #17
    IMHO, Apple botched this by releasing the 13" MacBook Pro non-touch early. Precisely because those are the only models being reviewed, and people are assuming so many things about the new model. For example, the fact that today's 13" and last years 13" have essentially the same CPU performance (WAY faster SSD performance this time around); has a lot of people reporting the same is true of the 15", when in fact, the 15" is a serious improvement over last years 15".

    The 13" did not include an extension cable. The 13" touch and 15" touch may or may not. It's not unusual for Apple to include more accessories in a higher end model.

    You can buy one, and yes, your old one will work. This is a standard that Apple has used for years. You can also use the power extension cable with an iPad brick, for example. Or you can unplug the extension cable from the MacBook Air/Pro brick, and plug in a two-prong from any of your iPad bricks, and have a nice portable charger that fits nicely in your bag.

    I wouldn't go ordering an extension cord just yet until the 15" reviews come in and we see what's actually in them.
     
  18. theitsage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #18
    I can confirm there's no extension cable in the box. The new power brick works with old extension cable. Another missing feature of this power brick is the collapsible tabs which you can wrap the cable around.

    The box is smaller in volume and one can guess why Apple got rid of this extension cable. What I don't understand is the missing black microfiber cloth.
     
  19. el-John-o macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #19
    In the 13" non touchbar model. As I said above, we don't know what will come with the touchbar models (13" or 15"). It's possible they could include it. Also possible they won't.
     
  20. kmac007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    #20
    Greed is the need!
     
  21. GCMD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    #21
    Is this still the case? No extension for the power cord/cable/brick?

    I saw the same review and had the same question...
     
  22. el-John-o macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #22
    Yes; still true and true across the range. The included USB-C cable is fairly long but the total length is much shorter than previous MagSafe chargers.
     
  23. GCMD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014

Share This Page