Power Mac G5 with 6x Monitors... WTF?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by LAHegarty, Jun 6, 2017.

  1. LAHegarty macrumors member

    LAHegarty

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Location:
    York, UK.
    #1
    So I'm looking to setup my Power Mac G5 with 6 monitors, has anyone done this?

    I already have 2 of the standard 256MB PCI-E Dual DVI graphics card's that will output 4 displays, I would like to add one more card so I can have the hole 6x monitors, has anyone done this YO, YO, YO?!

    Why do you ask? Why not!
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #2
    No, you aren't crazy.

    I was doing it with a Quicksilver G4 as well.

    But in this setup, Radeon X1900XT and two NVIDIA 6600s.

    I have a 2.3DC that also has three cards (Quadro FX and two 6600s). I just don't have the displays yet to hook the rest up.

    2017-06-04 13.53.49.png Finder.png

    As to why…well it's double the amount of monitors my MacPro at work has. :D
     
  3. LAHegarty thread starter macrumors member

    LAHegarty

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Location:
    York, UK.
    #3
    Cha-CHING! :]

    Awesome, though it would work but couldn't find anything on Google... Just ordered the 3rd card and the DVI cables :D

    Photos or maybe a video to come.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #4
    Yes, it works. In fact if you wanted to blow off other stuff you could do eight. Both in a G4 and a G5.

    I just never did eight because I just don't have the use for it. It would simply be two additional displays.

    Not sure powerwise that my G4 would have handled it though. I had that thing pushed to it's limits with what I had.

    G5s handle it better.

    PS, @bunnspecial has a Mac II that he's loaded up with vidcards and pushes six displays. Think about that. A 1987 Mac using six displays. ;)

    PPS, if you click on the link in my signature where it says "6 displays" there's another pic. :)
     

Share This Page