Power Mac MDD CPU Upgrade

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MatthewLTL, Feb 15, 2015.

  1. MatthewLTL macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #1
    as of current i can buy a 1.25 single CPU upgrade for my MDD for 13 bucks. I can also buy a 167MHz Logic board for 30. I can get a Dual 1.25 for $170 just by itself. Being that my MDD now has a 1GHz, will i notice a speed difference by increasing it 25MHz?

    It was suggested before that i could get Dual 867MHz and see a slight speed increase and use my current logic board.

    IIRC the non-FW800 MDD did have the option for a 1.25 single upgrade. If I am not mistaken on that, how would i know if this 13 dollar CPU is 133 or 167MHz?

    EDIT: CORRECTION: It is listed as a 167 bus. It is also listed as sealed in box Manufacture refurbished.
     
  2. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    The single 1.25 was an option on the MDD2003 machines. Some folks consider this the "king" of OS 9 computers, since OS 9 itself won't use multiple CPUs(although specific programs can).

    With that said, the MDD/MDD2003 models had the 167mhz FSB in all but the lowest end model(the dual 867). I think that this will probably provide more of an increase in speed than the extra 250mhz, although both will certainly help.

    The Single 1.25 used a different heatsink than the single 1ghz processors I've seen-the 1ghz was a solid block of aluminum with the vanes formed into it, while the single 1.25(at least in every factory installation I've seen) used a bunch of thin sheets of metal held together with a retainer. I've never tried swapping the two around, but suspect that the design used on the single 1.25 was used for a reason and was probably more efficient. I'd suggest that you be sure you get this heatsink.
     
  3. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #3
    My MDD has the finned CPU Heatsink it looks like this:
    (Not My MDD)
    [​IMG]
     
  4. archtopshop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #4
    Both of my Dual 1.25 GHz FW800's came with the thin bladed heatsink, like the one shown in your photo. My single processor 1.0 GHz FW800 came with the heatsink that looks to be machined from a single block of aluminum.
     
  5. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    If you have that heatsink, you should be good to go(with appropriate thermal paste application, that is).
     
  6. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #6
    Perhaps the Previous Owner i bought it from upgraded the heatsink too?
     
  7. archtopshop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #7
    That's certainly possible. But in any case, I think your current heatsink should handle any processor you throw at it, except maybe the Dual 1.42 GHz. That one came with the copper heatsink. I'm guessing they get pretty hot, but I've never owned one. They used to be pretty cheap, and easy to find on eBay, but now they're getting more scarce and pricey.
     
  8. catzilla macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #8
    I have a dual 1.25 that I upgraded to the copper heatsink, so it is possible.
     
  9. MatthewLTL, Feb 15, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2015

    MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #9
    3 years ago, shortly after buying the MDD, i did a search for a Dual 1.42 CPU and a copper heatsink the CPU was like 30 the heatsink was like 20. Now, I cannot find a copper heatsink at all and finding even the Dual 1GHz or Dual 1.25 seems hard to find (and expensive). Hell, a SINGLE 1.25 is even pricey (but more affordable)

    I have always wondered why they offered iBooks with 1.02GHz and 1.33GHz and offered the PBs with 1.67GHz but never offered any G4 towers with those options (or offered 1.67 to the Mini, eMac, or iBook
    EDIT: If i can ever aquire a Copper heatsink before the 1.42 CPUS ill grab one. Otherwise i am not worried. Part of the reason i added fans to the rear behind the CPU is so the CPU can be cooled when i run it with the door open (which i do alot for testing). Probably not even needed before the fans were added the heatsink barely got warm. I'm confident it would cool the 1.42
     
  10. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #10
    I just bought a dual 7447A card yesterday that will fit a Quicksilver and can supposedly be clocked up to 1.8ghz...

    With that said, the reason why Apple never put these in a G4 tower is that by the time the 7400 design advanced to where it could reliably run at 1.67ghz, Apple had long since moved to the G5 for PowerMacs and iMacs. It didn't make it into Powerbooks until early 2005. As for why it was never put into iBooks, Minis, and eMacs-I can only speculate, but keep in mind that these were budget machines. I suspect that at the time the 1.67 made it into Powerbooks, Apple had probably already started putting a lot of their resources toward the Intel transition(which was announced in mid-2005, and the first products shipped in early 2006) and just didn't want to put a lot of effort into the budget products. It's worth noting that the 12" PB-which is internally closer to the iBooks than its larger brothers-never reached 1.67ghz either.
     
  11. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #11
    I was actually thinking of getting either a iBook G3 or a Mac Mini G4 to use as a Internet Connection Sharing server. Should i look for a specific model of Mini or would even the lowest end one work? I'd need USB 2.0 do all the G4 Mini's have that?
     
  12. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #12
    No iBook G3 has USB 2.0. All G4 Minis have it.
     
  13. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #13
    i have always wondered why all g3 and g4 desktops only have 2 USB Ports and why no G4 towers ever had USB 2.0 ports yet the iMac G4, eMac, Mini, iBook and PowerBook G4s were eventually given USB 2.0.
     
  14. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #14
    All of those got USB 2.0 in 2003 or 2004(depending on the model). The earliest were the iMac and Powerbook in September 2003. This came after the PM G5 was announced as the replacement for the PM G4. All G5s had USB 2.0.

    As for the number of USB ports-when the G3 B&W was introduced with two, there just weren't that many USB peripherals. The number was continued, and by the time USB really took hold Apple just assumed you would use an ADC display which gave you two additional ports. Using Apples "fuzzy" USB port math, with an ADC monitor and an Apple keyboard, you would actually have 6 USB ports :) (watch the keynote where Steve Jobs introduced the iMac G4 with "5 USB Ports"-3 on the computer and 2 on the keyboard).
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    The FireWire 800 MDD PowerMac G4 does have USB 2 built in, but it is limited to USB 1.1 within the firmware.
     
  16. catzilla macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #16
    Is there a way to enable that? I seem to remember Apple was against it.
     
  17. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  18. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #18
    Damn. Then I would have 7 USB 2 ports :D

    ----------

    didn't USB 2 come out way before 2003? I thought it was like late 90s when USB 2 was introduced oddly in 2015.... still no Macs with USB 3
     
  19. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #19
    It was more like 2000.

    We can speculate all we want, but I suspect that a lot of the reason had to do with the fact that Apple was still heavily pushing Firewire as their high speed I/O of choice at the time and preferred to keep USB as a low-speed replacement that served much the same role as ADB on older Macs. That's just my theory anyway...

    Most Macs(including the whole MBP, MBA, and Mini line) got USB 3.0 with the mid-2012 refresh(and the new Retina models that were introduced at the time). I think the only one that had to wait any significant time was the Mac Pro, which didn't get USB 3.0 until the complete redesign that happened in late 2013(or more practically early 2014 before it really shipped in significant numbers).
     
  20. MatthewLTL thread starter macrumors 68000

    MatthewLTL

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    #20
    technically speaking, Wouldn't a USB 2 PCI card be moot? USB 2 has speeds of 480Mbps but isn't the PCI Bus limited to 300-something?
     
  21. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #21
    *ahem* :p (no USB 2 card fitted)
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #22
    iTunes often sometimes trick the OS into thinking it has USB 2 ports when it really doesn't. It has something to do with iOS devices requiring a USB 2 port. A good example of this is any G3 system with iTunes 9.
     
  23. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #23
    I have never ever opened itunes on this install of OS X and I can tell you from Booting from it (that USB stick is my portable leopard install :p) that the USB Port is USB 2... I can also try running xbench on it and see what I get...
     
  24. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #24
    iTunes doesn't ever have to be opened for it to trick OS X into thinking the USB port is a USB 2 port.
     
  25. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #25
    Then Do explain How Im getting these speeds In xbench if its a USB 1.1 port like your saying...
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page