Press and hold harder for Siri Iphone 6

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by wickkedd, Sep 27, 2014.

  1. wickkedd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    #1
    Hi all,

    Is it just me, or do you have to apply harder than normal force while pressing and holding for Siri?

    When I do a normal press, until I hear the click, thats not hard enough to activate Siri while holding. I have to press firmer in after the click to get Siri. Anyone else?
     
  2. asdfgbg macrumors regular

    asdfgbg

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    Nope, not normal, I'm applying force till I can hear the click, and then Siri gets activated.
     
  3. wickkedd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    #3
    That's funny because my click works perfectly fine. For normal operation (pushing home button and double-push for open tasks) works perfectly well. Is there a seperate sensor for detecting push and hold? I have to press harder than the click, which is harder than my 5s.
     
  4. Eileen89 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    #4
    Siri works fine without any more pressure on the home button than I used on my 5S.
     
  5. JoeTomasone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    #5

    Ditto.
     
  6. greytmom macrumors 68040

    greytmom

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
  7. wickkedd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    #7
    Ok this scares me :(

    So basically, you all just push the home button for Siri like you do for anything else? Thanks!
     
  8. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #8
    At first my home button was hard to get siri to work. But over time it works better now. At first my button had a hard click to it, now its soft click.
     
  9. IndoX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #9
    OP make sure it's an immediate click and you are not hovering over the home button. If you rest your finger slightly and then click you might accidentally activate TouchID instead of Siri.
     
  10. wickkedd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    #10
    Do you know if there is a separate sensor in there that is supposed to detect click (hold) vs just normal click? My normal click works perfectly time, as well as double click..but the hold does not, unless I push harder than normal.

    ----------

    I'm sure about this because I used Siri all the time on my 5s :) Thanks!
     
  11. The Doctor11 macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    The home button has NO pressure sensor what so ever. None nothing. Siri is based off how long you press the home button for not how much force is used. As long as your pressing the home button she will come up.
     
  12. wickkedd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    #12
    Well that doesn't explain why I can click normally for everything (returning to main menu, double click for running programs, etc), but when I press and hold, nothing happens, until I apply force and press quite a bit harder...
     
  13. Phone nutter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    #13
    I updated my iPhone 6 to the latest revision today and now Siri doesn't work ?
    Tried turning on and off in settings - still no joy .
    Any advice
     

Share This Page