Pro Applications Update 2008-01

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Apr 11, 2008.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]

    Apple has released Pro Applications Update 2008-01.

    Apple's release notes specify that the update is a revision to Final Cut Studio 2.0 and includes Final Cut Pro 6.0.3, Compressor 3.0.3, Apple HDV Codec 1.4, and PluginManager 1.7.3.

    The update to Final Cut Pro has made editing media in Sony's XDCAM HD422 format possible. Additionally, the Compressor update includes the ability to encode in Dolby Digital Professional (AC-3) and anamorphic video from the Apple Devices Encoder pane.

    Article Link
     
  2. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    sweet my internship site will sure love this update
     
  3. Montserrat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Using Logic Studio here, but the update's not appearing in Software Update. That said, doesn't appear to be a lot in here for me...
     
  4. chubad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Location:
    Frozen Wasteland
    #4
    Kinda old news as it was released yesterday. Nice update. Click on the more info link on the update. :)
     
  5. MacFly123 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    #5
    I wanna be able to import .m2t files from the hard drives of my HD video camera! :(
     
  6. rckstwrz macrumors member

    rckstwrz

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    #6
    sweet, maybe this means the 3G iPhone will come out tomorrow.
     
  7. SimonTheSoundMa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
  8. zirkle2007 macrumors 6502

    zirkle2007

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    #8
    man...safari is blazing now!
     
  9. chickenninja macrumors 6502

    chickenninja

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    inside my skull
    #10
    3g iphone came out last tuesday
     
  10. change macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    Who knows...
    #11
    :eek:
    Wow, seems we are all asleep at the wheel! :D
     
  11. daddywags214 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #12
    Hmm, I've been having stability issues with Shake on my Mac Pro. I figured I wouldn't get any more updates since they stopped "supporting" Shake 4.1. Maybe this will help?
     
  12. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #13
    Have you tried converting them with MPEG Streamclip? (Can't promise it will work, but I think it might.)

    As for supporting .m2t files directly, don't count on it. That's a transport stream file type which is designed for streaming and broadcasting. Meaning, it is NOT made to work well with random-access devices like, well, computer hard drives. This means it's designed to PLAY very well, but it's very difficult (from a file perspective) to jump around to different parts of it.

    You can see how that would be a problem for an editing program.

    Just convert it to something else.
     
  13. MacFly123 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    #14
    Yes MPEG StreamClip works but the whole point of my work spending $4,000.00 on hard drives was so that we could just drag and drop the files into editing and not have to capture tape, and when I just have to sit and convert them all for hours it defeats the entire purpose :(

    Does anyone know of a hard drive that is compatible with the Sony HVR-V1U and Final Cut Pro???

    And when do people expect Final Cut Studio 3??? :D Come on BluRay programing for DVD Studio Pro! I'm gunna have a lot of new things to learn lol, BluRay authoring doesn't seem like it is going to be so simple!
     
  14. jonnyblobby macrumors member

    jonnyblobby

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Location:
    Aus, Sydney
    #15
    Hvr-mrc1

    Well the SONY HVR-MRC1 is the device sony released with there new HVR-Z7, it records to compact flash in m2t files, you then use final cut's "Log and Transfer" too to import the footage as HDV directly into final cut from the included firewire 400 dock. the transcode is insanely fast coming from compact flash. (although you do need to install a plugin from sony for it to work, but I would say this update probably fixes that anyway. After a quick test transferring the files from the sony memory unit to a portable hard drive, final cut does in fact allow importing using log & capture.[​IMG]
     
  15. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #16
    I thought the Anamorphic was going to be good news, but it is only for the Apple TV SD setting, which is not a major thing.

    The Anamorphic was needed for the iPhone/iPod Setting (with 5.1 option). And neither are there. WHY? That was the biggest gain with the recent updates after the rentals were released. Having one file, that can be played on the Apple TV and iPhone/iPods with 5.1 and AAC was great.

    I hope it is coming.
     
  16. thedarkhorse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    well maybe you should do a little research into the workflow before dropping 4 grand on something you hope should be easy and work. Apple has never supported native m2t editing, everything in final cut is always using the quicktime wrapper.

    What I'm most interested out of this update is HDV 422 support, does this mean when hdv is captured from tape it is now captured to a 422 color space rather than 420, or does it have to be converted after capture? This might be good because I've been thinking of changing our hdv workflow at work to prores because its an iframe codec and it has the 422 color space, I just don't want to capture prores because I lose batch abilities. I may ditch this if hdv will be able to be captured to a 422 color space and bite the bullet with the long GOP codec. If the footage has to be converted after I will just go to prores though.
     
  17. edoates macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    #18
    Note: the HVR-MRC1 has firewire in/out as well, so it is possible to use it with cameras other than Sony branded. Some video discussion sites have had users test it with the Sony A1 and V1U, and it works and is controlled by the camera; no tests I've seen with the Canon A1, however.

    The Sony software works with this device and with their 60GB hard drive video capture device, but apparently using Firewire, not the memory card in a reader. The software is available from Sony here:

    http://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/www/pro_hdv/fcp_plugin/

    Note also that the HVR-MRC1 is not yet available as a stand alone purchase.

    Eddie O
     
  18. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    sony vegas
     
  19. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #20
    Why don't you change your sequence settings to render in Pro Res? You'll basically get the advantages of working in Pro Res while sticking w/the HDV file sizes.


    Lethal
     
  20. thedarkhorse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #21
    the advantages only exist while editing, so you can see your effects faster while editing, at the end it still conforms to hdv which is a long GOP format so it has to encode throughout the whole thing anyways, and if you want to output to prores final cut still re-encodes all the prores render files anyways. I'm thinking just editing in prores will probably be the best option, we'll just have figure out the best way to ingest.
     
  21. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #22
    It only conforms if you go back to HDV tape, and if your rendering is set to ProRes then you'll be working in a less compressed, I-Frame, 4:2:2 space so you're gfx, color fx, etc., will all look better than if you had the render engine set to HDV. Also, FC shouldn't "double dip" when it comes to renders/exports. FC should always goes back to the source media so that you avoid unnecessary compression.

    Going to ProRes from the get go will obviously eliminate problems associated w/HDV, but if you don't have the time, budget or resources to make that happen then changing the render settings will get you most of the benefits of ProRes w/o costing you a dime.


    Lethal
     
  22. beestigbeestje macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Location:
    Belgium
    #23
    Logic pro fix

    The update still didn't fix Logic stalling at opening the first project after loading the program.
    I hope Apple will fix this ASAP, it irritates me waiting half a minute before a project actualy starts loading...
     
  23. MacFly123 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    #24
    Well maybe you shouldn't jump to conclusions and insult me like that when I was not the one that purchased them or picked them out!!! I always do my homework thank you. :rolleyes:
     
  24. mikey.f macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Location:
    Slovakia
    #25
    I only have Aperture, but I got the update?? Is there anything Aperture related? I don't see anything in the description. :confused:
     

Share This Page