Problem with Canon CanoScan LIDE 50 driver

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by NameTheUser, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. NameTheUser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Location:
    Europe, Estonia
    #1
    Hello!

    I have Canon CanoScan LIDE 50 and I do not know how to get it work. I have downloaded and installed the latest driver from Canon official webpage, and I also have downloaded and installed CanoScan Toolbox 5.0, but still it wont work.
     
  2. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #2
    According to the Canon web site the LiDE 50 is only supported under these versions of OS X, 10.1/10.2/10.3/10.4. I assume you're running Snow Leopard and if so, you're out of luck as that scanner is only supported through OS X 10.4 Tiger. No Leopard or Snow Leopard support from Canon.

    Welcome to the club, I've got an LiDE 80 that's in the same boat, fortunately for now I'm running 10.4, but I know when the day comes and I get a new Mac I'll also have to get a new scanner. Thanks Canon!
     
  3. NameTheUser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Location:
    Europe, Estonia
    #3
    Thanks, I'll try to use the scanner on my old eMac which is 10.4
     
  4. RWil85 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    #4
    there's a program that i saw on either versiontracker or macupdate called "VueScan" or something like that claims to have supports for 'almost every scanner on the market'..

    have you tried that?
     
  5. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #5
    Did you just buy the LiDE 50?
     
  6. mex4eric macrumors 6502

    mex4eric

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #6
    Both the old scanner software and Vuescan work on my Canon LiDE 80, Vuescan is better. However, they both need Rosetta to work as they are old PowerPC code and Lion 10.7 drops Rosetta, so the scanner will be toast in July.
     
  7. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #7
    Are you saying that the LiDE 80 works with Canons' drivers/software under OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)?
     
  8. cesko macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    been running my Lide80 since installing SL>
    Go here for a how-to. You will need Vuescan and the canon driver for it to work. Nevermind the clunky/useless Canon Toolbox.
    http://macdiddy.com/archives/148
     
  9. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #9
    Thanks. I didn't know that VueScan had been updated to work with the LiDE 80, the last time I checked it hadn't. Considering the cost of VueScan it might make more sense to just get a new scanner and be done with it.
     
  10. cesko macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    Agreed.Especially if moving to Lion renders the How-To moot. Shame, I really like the versatility of the Lide80.
     
  11. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #11
    I like the ability of the LiDE 80 to scan 35mm negs, I've only used it a couple of times, but really need to do all my old negs before it's too late. I can still use it with my old iMac and we have a PC that it will still work with so, I don't have any immediate need to replace it. I need to get a new printer one of these days, so I'll probably just get an an all-in-one and cover both bases. Probably won't be a Canon though, as much as I like their products I'm having trouble forgiving them for leaving us hanging. If a user could figure this out for Leopard and Snow Leopard then Canon should have also done it.

    I'll also be upgrading to Lion in the near future (since I qualify for the free upgrade), but it won't be right away as I'm still in the midst of moving stuff from the iMac to the MacBook Pro and getting updated versions of software, etc.
     
  12. rdj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #12
    LiDE 30 working under Mac OS X Lion with VueScan 9

    FYI, after installing Mac OS X Lion (10.7), I found myself unable to use any of the Canon drivers or software, nor could I import scans into Photoshop Elements 6.

    I saw something about VueScan and one of the LiDE printers, but it indicated that a Canon driver was required.

    Now, I had tried installing any non-Power PC Canon driver I could find (e.g. for the LiDE 90) and still couldn't get anything to work. Then I remembered that I had bought VueScan 9 quite a while ago.

    So, I started VueScan 9, and voilá, it talks to my LiDE 30 just fine! (Or maybe it's a LiDE 50... the inscription is quite small and not very clear. I've had several LiDE scanners pass through here, so I'm truly not sure which one it is. VueScan thinks its a 30.)

    Anyway, after taking the plunge into Lion, you might want to try VueScan if you haven't before tossing that nice LiDE scanner in the trash.
     
  13. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #13
    Checking Vuescan's site I see that the LiDE 80 isn't supported under OS X Lion as it requires the installation of the Canon driver which is PowerPC code. The LiDE 30 works with Vuescan without the installation of any drivers.

    FYI: The LiDE 80 has a brushed aluminum cover (metal), charcoal colored base and the front panel is black with 4 silver buttons. The LiDE 30 has a silver base and front panel with 3 black buttons and I believe the cover is plastic and blueish in color.
     
  14. magriver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #14
    Lide 50 with Lion

    I actually just downloaded and installed the drivers for the Lide 35, with the CanoScan Toolbox 4.5. They worked fine, I have managed to get this driver to work with VueScan before too. It is a old scanner , think it is about 10 years now, but it does its job so why get a new one.
     
  15. rdj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #15
    Based on your helpful description, my scanner is indeed a LiDE 30. I had bought a newer model but let my daughter have that one.

    For once, hanging onto "outdated" technology helped me adapt to new. And the 30 is still a superb scanner for my needs in addition to the "feature" of remaining functional!

    Unfortunately, the practice of leaving one "stranded" with nonfunctional equipment in the face of operating system upgrades is not limited to Canon as in the case of their more recent LiDE scanners. HP did that to me several times over the years, most notably with a tape backup device which struck me as bordering on irresponsible in their case.

    -^-rdj-^-
     
  16. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #16
    One of the reasons that I went with a Canon scanner was that supposedly Canon had good, continuing Mac support. :(
     
  17. navex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #17
    Lide 50 with Lion 10.7.2

    Thanks magriver

    I too have downloaded drivers and software for the lide 35 from the canon US site and I am now able to use my lide 50 scanner directly under Lion, albeit scan 1 & 2 settings still need tweaking.
     
  18. aylk macrumors member

    aylk

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #18
  19. wimrumor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #19
    I installed Canoscan Toolbox 4.5.1.2 and than the driver lide35osx7721en.dmg, and restarted. Works in Lion 10.7.2
     
  20. singlemanhk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    #20
    canonscan toolbox 5.0

    the canonscan toolbox 5.0 works fine under 10.7.2 with my lide70
     
  21. shasz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #21
    CanoScan flat bed scanner software Lion 10.7

    I have a CanoScan Lide 50
    It staggered with Snow Leopard
    Gave up with Lion

    I read the posts
    Tried Canon Toolbox 5 dowloads - nothing even flickered

    Tired VueScan -- worked straight off the site
    www.hamrick.com/

    Bought, installed, very happy
    And - it reactivates an old scanner as well as the one I'm using

    Goodbye Canon helpdesk ...

    Shasz

    Airbook 13inch 2011 :):):):)
     
  22. Eric Colvin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #22
    VueScan works a treat

    Thanks guys.
    Just downloaded VueScan and can confirm it works well with LidE 50 and OSX 10.75 :)
    http://www.hamrick.com/vuescan/canon_lide_50.html

    However, the welcome page warns that I must purchase if I want to avoid the watermark which author, Ed Hamrick, says he adds to scans made with unregistered software. Crafty bugger. Price? US$40 for a year's worth of free upgrades; or $80 for an "Unlimited Upgrade Period" (looks like you can pay the extra for the "unlimited" option any time in that first year).

    On reflection, though, probably worth it. I know you can pick up a brand new scanner for about the same as the software, but - hey, if you've got a good one - why not keep it working? Save the planet; save the lungs of the poor thirteen-year-old kids in China and India obliged to melt down electronic circuit-boards with bunsen burners for petty cash (see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFfaYc_pIx8
    http://www.ban.org/E-waste/technotrashfinalcomp.pdf
    http://www.greenpeace.org/internati...ort/2010/1/Switching-on-Green-Electronics.pdf ).

    Viewed that way, Hamrick is an eco-warrior.
     
  23. rdj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #23
    That was an interesting segue to a disturbing issue, Eric. It's not just garment workers at risk, is it. I shared the YouTube video with some friends. Note that YouTube provides a "Transcript" button/icon for this video. I didn't know they did that.

    As a guy who acquires and enjoys using electronics of historical significance, perhaps that makes me somewhat of an eco-warrior as well. What a great justification rationalization perspective that is!

    Thanks also for reminding me to update my copy of VueScan Pro. It's one of the few apps that doesn't automatically check for updates.
     
  24. MacScore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    #24
    Canon scanner - problems after updating to OS X.6.8 - help?

     
  25. deGenova macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    #25
    I need some scanner help here from an expert too -

    I opened "VueScan" (it looks like it would work fine) for my CanoScan LiDE 90 (U 1,0) but you must buy it first - no trial. I can buy a new scanner for the price.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    I need some scanner help here from an expert too - when I try to load the scanner from the disc in my new SuperDrive into an iMac 10.9 it stops at 60 % either as a partial standalone or the full version.

    I found a driver page at Canon that say's no online drivers available - I must use the drivers that come with the disc. But of course - therein lies the rub.

    I cannot access the driver by itself from the disc either........
     

Share This Page