Problem with my supervisor on Mac and PC incopatibilities

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by hildegueden, Jun 11, 2009.

1. hildegueden macrumors member

hildegueden

Hi,

I’m a Ph D student (first 6 months) and I’ve been working pretty well with my supervisor and my team group.. up to now.

I’m writing a publication and serious difficulties have started to come out because of incompatibility. I use Latex (TexShop) to write publications and they use Word and EndNote. I can not use them because Latex is far a way better for this purpose than the aforementioned, and it’s free, the others are not. Also, I’m a mac user, they are PC, therefore I use freeware software for plotting, they use Originlab. I tried to convinced them to try what I use, but it was useless.

I was happy with the “think differently” slogan but now I’m worry because paper production efficiency has been slowed down because of this issue. Yesterday I almost cried because I realized that my team and the publications are more important for me than the tools I use, so I'd better speak my team language. But yet I love latex and macs (I hate Word and PCs).

What do you suggest I do? Thanks a lot.

2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

Don't try pushing TeX on other people, especially your coworkers and superiors. You're going to have to start using Word.

3. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

My PhD supervisor complained about my LaTeX usage as well, but only because he sucks with computers. Everyone else switched to writing papers, and their thesis/dissertation, in LaTeX. Took a total of around 6 months for most of us to make the transition, and we all did it voluntarily, sort of like a chain reaction. Before he knew it, we were all using LaTeX, and he had enough of it.