Producer / Film composer needs a new mac! Help!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by pkoch1, Dec 30, 2007.

1. pkoch1 macrumors 6502a

pkoch1

So this is what is going through my head. Maybe you can help.

I am a music producer / engineer and a film composer. This means I need to run full orchestral sample libraries and record multitrack audio (through Logic, Pro Tools, or DP) at the same time.

I have been saving up for a new mac. I currently use a 1.67GHz PowerBook G4 with 2GB RAM and it does not have enough power for what I need.

Here are my 3 choices:

1. 24" iMac 2.8GHz 4GB RAM 1TB HDD ($2049 + RAM and HDD upgrade)

2. 20" iMac 2.4GHz 4GB RAM 750GB HDD ($1499 + RAM and HDD upgrade)

3. mac pro 2x2.0GHz or 2x2.66GHz 4GB RAM 250GB HDD + 750GB HDD ($2279 - $2578 + RAM and extra HDD and possibly + $599 for 20" ACD)

I know the prices are inconsistent, but these prices are what I need to worry about. Don't ask. (well you can if you really want to. I'll probably answer)

Here are the pros and cons of each:

24" iMac

Pro:

It is gorgeous
    It has a huge screen
    I can have the 2.8GHz processor
    It was my first gut reaction to what computer I should get

Con:

It may be too big for my desk. If so, I would need to build pillars for my monitors (speaker monitors, not display monitors) and put them behind my desk, which would take up space in the already-small room.

20" iMac

Pro:

It is gorgeous
    It would fit better next to my 20" ACD
    It will fit on my desk

Con:

It cannot have the 1TB HDD (although I do have lots of external space, I was really looking forward to taking this opportunity of buying a new mac to putting lots of internal space in)
    It cannot have the 2.8GHz processor

Mac Pro

Pro:

It is highly upgradable (I can keep adding RAM and HDD space)
    It has 2 processors, so performance is much better
    It is gorgeous

Con:

Price is a bit of an issue