PSX4All Specific Help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Cointreau, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. Cointreau macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #1
    Good day all,

    I am not a big poster and do not like to ask a lot of questions, since I can usually find answers through Google and the Search function. However, I have been stymied on this one.

    I have several Playstation Games, one of them being Syndicate Wars. I have it for my PSX and my PSP. I'd like to get it on my iPhone as well (this is the only one I want at the moment). So now I've got a .bin and .cue file.

    What do I do to get this to work? I've transferred it over to the right place but the program never opens the ROM. Is it in the right format? If not, how do I get it in the right format?

    Basically, I'm clueless when it comes to this application and all of the tutorials I've found online seem to be from a year or two ago and not applicable now.

    Help on this would be appreciated.

    Thank you very much!
     
  2. Drakdaddy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #2
    My games never showup on psx4all until I respring, so try doing that. Those are the right formats
     
  3. Cointreau thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #3
    Thank you for the verification on that.
    Perhaps then, I am putting them in the wrong location or missing a file I need? I've read somewhere that you need a BIOS? Not really sure whether I've got one for the game I have or not.

    The game shows up when I restart the app, it just won't launch, or crashes on launch. Is it perhaps not compatable with the app?

    Thanks again!
     
  4. thep33t macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #4
    in the /Applications/psx4all.app folder, you need to put the scph1001.bin file (The bios). You need to get this file on your own, and make sure to chmod 755 it.

    Your ROMs themself need to go into the /var/mobile/Media/ROMs/PSX folder. You cannot use a subfolder. Respring, and your games should show up in the PSX4All app.

    Now, I have a iPhone 4 and cannot get the app to run and ROM past clicking on it, so that much is up to you.
     
  5. Cointreau thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #5
    Thank you! I will give this a try when I get home and post any other questions I have. I really do appreciate the help.
     
  6. RobbySkateboard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #6
    I think I have the same problem you're talking about. It says the title of the game, but when I click it, it just goes to a black screen and shows the controller. (Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3) Any advice on this?

    scratch that, just installed another rom and when I tried to open it, it just crashed to spring board. (Tony Hawk Pro Skater 2)
     
  7. phixionalninja macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #7
    I have FFVII and FFIX running successfully on my iPhone 4, and I have scph1001.bin in /var/mobile/Media/ROMs/PSX with all the other ROMs, not in /Applications/psx4all.app.
     
  8. TehReaper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #8
    oh **** thnx dude that actually worked for me! Playing Resident Evil 3 as i type this haha!
     
  9. slzr44 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #9
    Where did you download your Roms from?
     
  10. phixionalninja macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #10
    Sorry, that's outside the rules of this forum as I understand it. Google is your friend, and I'm happy to offer whatever advice I can on how to get them running once you've found them.
     
  11. bloody macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #11
    Can you guys tell me how smoothly psx games are running on the iphone 4?
     
  12. TehReaper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #12
    very smooth, sometimes there sound glitches when movies are playing but thats part of emulation. But when your playing the game its flawless.:)
     
  13. phixionalninja macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #13
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vqvl30Z42tI

    There's a gameplay video I took of FFVII, with sound. If you go in to my channel I have some longer ones, and then a couple from FFIX. I have Worms World Party running as well, and I'm going to try Spyro tomorrow, with videos for both to come.

    Overall, the emulation works surprisingly well, all the games I've tried so far are definitely playable in terms of speed.
     
  14. mrahn1079 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #14
    can anyone tell me why my games don't show up?

    I'm trying to play Super Puzzle Fighter 2.. have the .iso file and put it in /var/root/Media/ROMs/PSX re-spring a number of times, but the game never shows up...

    what gives? I set all permissions to 0755, copied the .bin file to both psx4all.app folder and PSX folder... do I not have the right file format? can it not be an .iso file?
     
  15. slzr44 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #15
    I can never get the game to work I got the rom and the .bin and I put them in the eight places, I changes the permissions, I get them to show up in the psx4all app but when I open the game it just stays black
     
  16. TehReaper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #16
    your only suppose to change the permission of the schp1001.bin file and you stick that in your rom folder with the roms it self. The roms can be .img, .bin files
     
  17. bloody macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #17
    Very nice. I thought it would run fullspeed like on the EVO. Hopefully zodttd comes out with an update that will speed this up, and maybe frame skipping.
     
  18. mrahn1079 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #18

    nevermind.. I figured it out...

    you're not supposed to place the file in /var/root/Media/ROMs/PSX
    you're supposed to place the file in /var/mobile/Media/ROMs/PSX

    placed the game .iso file in there along with the scph.bin file (set 0755) and now it works great..

    hope this will help some people.. searched for hours looking for a solution and didn't find one...


    BTW.. i have ip4 w/ 4.0.1 I suppose it could run a bit smoother and faster, but it's still good enough for me..
     
  19. bobbytallant macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #19
    Hey thanks for the vids.

    Yeah I have tried FF7 and FF9 on iP4 and both run great. FF7 is perfect and FF9 is playable but the battle thing is annoying (the flashing white text). I've also read somewhere that at some point whilst playing FF9 on iPhone it crashes and there is no way around it lol - so not committing myself to that file just yet.

    Has anyone tried FF8 yet? I have and as past versions of psx4all and psx4iphone have found, the iPhone really does not like the world map on FF8 - like you cannot even move yourself lol...
     
  20. phixionalninja macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #20
    I heard somewhere that in FF8 you do move in the world map, but it doesn't render it, so you have to pause or something to see where you are. I don't know, I haven't tried it myself yet.
     
  21. GaresTaylan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #21
    I have pretty much given up on this app. I have tried it on my 3GS and my iPad and the rooms won't play. They start to load meaning I get to see the controller and then the app crashes. I do have the bin and iso in the correct folder.

    Ideas?
     
  22. Cointreau thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #22
    I have tried all suggestions, put the files in the right places but the game never launches. I guess my game just isn't compatible with this emulator yet.

    Has anyone tried Syndicate Wars yet and gotten it to work?

    Thanks!
     
  23. phixionalninja macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #23
    Just downloaded it, it seems to be working fine. Not that I have any idea what I'm doing in this game, lots of menus, I seem to be selecting torsos? Other body parts? Building an army of some sort? Regardless, nothing has crashed yet.

    EDIT: It is possible you just have a bad ROM...definitely make sure to try out others, or find an alternate source for Syndicate Wars.
     
  24. bobbytallant macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #24
    Ah yes that is correct - did try moving on the world map and whilst you can, it is just so confusing that I deem it to be unplayable.

    I'm not sure if the world map will ever be able to be rendered properly on the iPhone, which is a shame as the rest of the game seems to play OK.
     
  25. Cointreau thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #25
    Good day all,
    Okay, I'm getting frustrated. I loaded FFvii on here, confirmed by others to work, and the app just loads up a controller, then crashes to springboard. I've uninstalled, rebooted, reinstalled, checked path.... All for naught.
    If anyone has any other suggestions, I'd really be grateful.
    Thank you for all the help so far!

    Edit: Okay, I seemed to get it working. I started again, this time with the premise that maybe my bios file was corrupt. Sure enough, when I swapped that out, things started working.

    Thanks again for the help everyone! I appreciate the comments and postings in this thread and it's really helped me out!
     

Share This Page