Purchase iphone 3gs and use data

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mikezak123, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. mikezak123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #1
    Hi everyone im sorry if this questioned has been asked. But if my brother has an AT&T account and has had a basic phone for 2 years and is eligable for an upgrade, could he buy the 3gs for $200 with the $30 data package every month, and give the 3gs to me (im on tmobile) and put his sim card into an IPhone 3g, which is my current phone, i am willing to pay him for both phones because he is helping me out. My question is, could this be a problem with AT&T, because he will be paying the $30 for 3G internet and will have have an iPhone 3g. So we are not trying to scam AT&T or anything because we are paying for the phone and the internet. Thanks.
     
  2. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #2
    yes

    1 yes it's been posted before. yes you can as long as the bill is paid. of course you will have to jailbreak and unlock it the hack section has all the info you will need stickies should be enough.

    '
    edit you are most likely going to have to have two phones lines and data lines AT&T will be able to tell he is using a 3g not a 3gs seems like it be easier just to switch to AT&T you will pay AT&T and T-mobile.
     
  3. mikezak123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #4
    thanks for response.
    But to labman. The data speed on the 3g and the 3gs are the same all AT&T will see is a different IMEI number do you think they will open a new account, i doubt that will happen. Also do you have a personal recommendation for the best unlocking program thanks.
     
  4. creon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #5

    They can see what iPhone you are using. I was talking to a rep from AT&T and he told me about the upgrade available. I asked him what upgrade and he said my 3g to the 3gs.

    It's either in the paperwork that u have an iPhone data plan with a 3g or 3gs. And I wonder why they even need to know what iPhone I nave anyway?
     
  5. mikezak123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #6
    i understand they can tell what model you have. but i don't think AT&T will make any changes to your plan. As long as you are paying the $30 a month for 3g data, why would they change your plan. even if they call you and say that their has been a switch on your account couldnt you just say that you are using your 3g for music untill you get all of your songs back on the 3gs, or something like that. you are not cheating them out of money. Has anyone tried this and what have your experiences been?
     
  6. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #7
    They shouldn't make any changes. As long as they see an iPhone and iPhone data plan along with it there should be no problem. It doesn't matter what type of iPhone it is.
     
  7. mikezak123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #8
    Thats what I'm thinking. I just wanted someone who has done this already to confirm.
     
  8. JoshGlzBrk macrumors 6502a

    JoshGlzBrk

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #9
    It's not really worth having an iPhone on tmobile unless it's the first generation. Yes you will "have" a faster iPhone with a somewhat better camera but you will still be stuck on edge. Tmobile uses a different frequency for their 3g than AT&T does so you can might as well take the "3g" out of you iPhones model name.

    Just switch to AT&T.
     
  9. mikezak123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #10
    I am on a contract with T-Mobile for another year, and will have data blocked. I have wifi around me all the time. The phone itself has a video camera, with an upgraded camera, and its alot faster, also I was low on memory with the 3G so i will be getting more memory with the 3GS. Again has anybody actually tried this?
     
  10. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #11
    Well why not talk to AT&T

    directly as you said you are not trying to get out of paying for anything, your brother and you should go together and talk to a couple AT&T reps or your brother can call customer service might be better talking to them then getting advice from people you don't know. if you go too a store you might be more likely ask questions with out giving away your personal info or getting anything on your brothers records. just in case they say don't do it but you still decide too.
     
  11. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    OP, it will work fine. You are not trying to take advantage of no one. Both phones use the the same $30 plan, so its fine.

    Lucky of you to have a brother like that.:)
     
  12. mikezak123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #13
    I was planning on calling as well and appreciate the help from everyone. Also I am lucky my brother was willing to do that, he said as long as it makes calls and he can get his emails he's fine with it, I on the other hand have to have the latest technology. The 3gs is alot better too.
     
  13. JoshGlzBrk macrumors 6502a

    JoshGlzBrk

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #14
    It's really pointless to go through all this for just using wifi. I suggest waiting for September 9th when the new iPod touch should be announced with a camera. I think that would suit you a lot better than the hassel of using an iPhone on tmobiles edge network.

    And just because cell phones have cameras does not mean they are very good. Digital cameras are made for the single purpose of taking pictures, the iPhone is a bunch of devices In one. And seeing as how focusing on multiple aspects in one device lowers the quality of each (take walmart for example), some things will not be up to par with just buying the device that does that function solely itself.


    So my advice is get a new iPod touch (64gb if released) and a new digital camera or a bigger memory card for your current one. I have seen sd cars well over 16GB so you won't have a problem.
     
  14. mikezak123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #15
    I want the 3GS becasue i like the phone and the OS, on it i don't want to spend $300 on an ipod touch, and another $200 on a digital camera. Because i dont want to carry around an ipod touch, a digital camera, and a cell phone, its not ideal at all, and it costs 2x more, people are aware of what the ipod touch is, the phone itself does a good enough job for what I need: camera, ipod, messaging device, phone, and email all in one, not to mention the apps all in one device.
     
  15. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #16
    Now does your brother even want an iPhone? If he does, then you're solution is fine as long as you unlock the iPhone.

    If your brother is just playing along with your deed, then have you considered selling you iPhone 3G and then buy a factory unlocked 3GS>
     
  16. mikezak123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #17
    Hi was thinking about that but my brother has actually grown to liking the iphone. I called AT&T and didnt give any information and asked them hypothetically and they said it would be a problem because the imei number wouldnt match the serial number on the iphone 3GS, But i don't see that as a problem becasue the phone should work fine and the billing should work fine, the only problem i believe the lady was referring to was just the numbers would be mixed up on their system, so its not really a problem purse. I might just look into purchasing an unlocked 3GS on craigslist. Becasue i have used the 3gs many times and the 3g is still a very good phone, but i know i wont be satisfied untill i get the best one, i know it sounds like im spoiled but I really like having the latest technology, and i will sell the 3g, so it wont cost me that much more, hopefully.
     
  17. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #18
    BTW if you do plan to along with that plan, after the 3GS is activated just call AT&T and have them swap the IMEI numbers on the account to the 3G.
     
  18. mikezak123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    #19
    do you think AT&T will have a problem with doing that?, wouldnt they think something suspicious of not using the 3gs
     
  19. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    For the 20th time its ok :D
    There wont be a problem.
    All he has to do is activate the 3GS and then take his simcard and put it in his old 3G.
    Everything stays the same, only difference is he's stuck with AT&T for another 2 years thanks to you :)
     

Share This Page