Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

smoledman

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 17, 2011
I'm in the market for a new iMac in the next few months. I have my eye on this one:

3.7GHz 6-core 9th-generation Intel Core i5 processor, Turbo Boost up to 4.6GHz
32GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory
Radeon Pro Vega 48 with 8GB of HBM2 memory

My intention is to run Windows 10 using Parallels Desktop as I have been doing for the last 4 years. Does anyone here run this iMac with Parallels Desktop and can speak to the graphics performance in Windows gaming?

My planned VM configuration:

8 logical CPU cores
6GB GPU RAM
16GB RAM

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
8 logical CPU cores

This won't be an option. The i5 here only has 6 logical cores, each mapped to a physical core. Hyperthreading is disabled on the i5 and i7 and only available on i9. This happened as a market segmentation move as the physical core count went up.

32GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory

Just like everyone else, I'll point out the memory is very easily user upgraded and doing it yourself can save you a good chunk of change.

The Vega should perform really well generally, but I don't have it to speak to its virtualised performance.

Reactions: smoledman

smoledman

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 17, 2011
This won't be an option. The i5 here only has 6 logical cores, each mapped to a physical core. Hyperthreading is disabled on the i5 and i7 and only available on i9. This happened as a market segmentation move as the physical core count went up.

Just like everyone else, I'll point out the memory is very easily user upgraded and doing it yourself can save you a good chunk of change.

The Vega should perform really well generally, but I don't have it to speak to its virtualised performance.

Ok so I should be able to assign 2 cores to macOS & 4 cores to the VM right?

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark