Question about upgrading a Wordpress theme

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by DaveTheRave, Feb 6, 2012.

1. DaveTheRave macrumors 6502a

Hi, I'm a Wordpress beginner. I have a self hosted blog using a free theme that was available at the time. I did a search and found that the author has a 2.0 version available for purchase. I'd like to buy and upgrade but worry about losing stuff on my blog.

My understanding is that I would upload the zip file into Wordpress. I think that would only make it available for me to then choose, along with whatever other themes are available to me.

So if I switch to the 2.0 version, my posts should be okay because they're stored in a different file, right? But what about my widgets? Will they be deleted? In my current theme there's no automatic upgrade button, so I worry that not everything will be upgraded correctly (Chateau theme) like my posts' featured images, etc or my banner picture, favicon. Am I worrying about nothing? Can anyone give me some advice?

Thanks!

2. macjram macrumors 6502a

macjram

Your posts will be safe from switching themes; and your widgets will be saved with the theme you have on now.

When you switch to the upgraded theme you may have to manually customize your widgets again but I believe there are options for you to put your old widgets into the sidebars of your new theme under the Widgets menu

Just don't overwrite your current theme with the new theme; use a different folder name for example

3. waloshin macrumors 68040

waloshin

Your posts and comments will stay intact. Sometimes your widgets will have to be placed back. Your favicon should be fine. Your banner image should be fine.

4. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Typically it doesn't even matter that it's a new version, because they're often titled with the version number.

Theme_v1_1
    Theme_v2_0