question to "going to college" pple

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Tex-Twil, Aug 5, 2008.

1. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

Tex-Twil

Hello,
    I've been reading these forums for a while 'cos I'm waiting for the MBP update to switch from PC to MAC and I'm very excited about that.

I've seen many people who are going to college in august and they say they have to have a MBP/MB before the lessons start. It looks like most of them can't even think about going to college without a notebook.

I would like to ask you if it is really so necessary to have a notebook in a US college. I live in Europe and went to college there and I got my 1st laptop only once I finished my studies (1.5 year ago). I have a Master degree in network security and cryptography so a laptop would have been welcomed but it was far from being a must have.

This thread is not exactly related to Apple, I know, but I was just wondering how it works in US ;)

Thanks,
    Tex

2. bsamcash macrumors regular

Well, no, not for most majors anyway. But I have a MacBook which I use for school. But if you're still in computer or IT related classes it might help. Plus, you can never go wrong with a Mac!

3. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

TuffLuffJimmy

It's a requirement in some schools and has become a bit of a social requirement in US schools.

4. Bootsie macrumors 6502a

Bootsie

Unless you want to spend many long hours in the Library writing papers and doing research, then yes you need to have some kind of computer to use at home, and most students prefer a notebook for obvious portability.

But no it is not required and many students get by without it.

Also many people are switchers and want to get their computers set up and get used to the new OS before worrying about getting things done for classes. (That is my concern anyway)

5. tdhurst macrumors 68040

tdhurst

Hmmm

For most people it's a communication tool rather than just a computer.