Questions about buying a laptop.

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Firestar, Aug 19, 2011.

?

Which manufacturer do you prefer?

1. Lenovo

24 vote(s)
    64.9%
  2. Asus

6 vote(s)
    16.2%
  3. Acer

2 vote(s)
    5.4%
  4. HP

4 vote(s)
    10.8%
  5. Dell

5 vote(s)
    13.5%
  6. Toshiba

10 vote(s)
    27.0%
  7. Sony

8 vote(s)
    21.6%
  8. Samsung

7 vote(s)
    18.9%
  1. Firestar, Aug 19, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2011

Firestar macrumors 68020

Firestar

Many, many questions.

I'm a student, so what I'll probably be doing on this computer include MR, Youtube, MS Office, etc. Probably a flash game every once in a while.

1. Proccessor. What processor-i3, or i5? (I know I won't need an i7.) Realistically, I would prefer an i5, but do you really think I need it? I'd rather not spend the extra if you don't think I'll really need it.
    2. RAM. 3GB, 4GB, or 6GB? It seems that there wouldn't be much difference between 3 and 4, and they don't seem to be a common offering. 4 should be fine, I think.
    3. Manufacturer. I've been thinking mainly about Toshiba, Dell, HP, and Sony. But Sony's more on the expensive side, so do you think it's worth the extra for Sony?
    4. Hard drive. I'll probably be using this for a few years, so do you suggest 320GB or 500GB, because I doubt I'll use 1TB.
    5. Accesories. What do you think is nessacary for a laptop? Do cooling docks help that much? Are keyboard covers difficult to use? Do you think I'd need an external hard drive?
    6. Wi-fi router. This is probably the area I'm the most clueless about. Suggestions? Really, I should be the only one using the router, but my brother might occasionally use it.
    More will probably be added soon, but that should be it for now.

Edit: Oh, and my budget for the laptop itself will probably from anywhere to $600.

2. fireshot91 macrumors 601

fireshot91

See response in red, twin