Questions about upgrading a power mac G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Power_Mac_Fanatic, May 19, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Power_Mac_Fanatic macrumors newbie

    Power_Mac_Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    #1
    Hi I have a few questions about upgrading a power mac G5. So first off I have a early dual G5 and I was wondering if I could upgrade the processors to 2 dual core G5s. Then for my next question I also have a late 2005 G5 with a single G5 dual core and I was wondering if I could get a new dual motherboard with 2 quad core G5s and get a water cooler for it. Thanks for any help!:)
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    No, the dual-core CPUs are only compatible with the late 2005 models.
    Yes, you can get a new logic board and CPUs to make a Quad G5 (2x dual-core 2.5 GHz). I've considered doing this, but it isn't cheap as it requires both a new logic board and 2x dual-core 2.5 GHz CPUs with liquid cooler.
     
  3. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #3
    As Redheeler said, it really can't be done without serious parts changing.

    In all honesty, given the price of Quads these days, it makes more sense just to buy the complete computer.
     
  4. oi! Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #4
    ^This^, max the ram, get a 2536gb SSD a 1Tb hard drive, or two (and the kit to fit additional HD's), get a X1900XT or X1900XTX graphics card.

    You now have a very nice G5 that will out shine bottom end Mac Pro's at some tasks, and might not leak liquid coolant all over your processors and PSU.
    (the dual pump LCU on the quad core is far far less leak prone than the single pump LCU on the twin cores, but leaks are not completely unknown)
    A future collectors piece, get one in it's original packaging, keep the original GPU, put it someplace dry, out of sunlight and away from mice/rats/roaches/children and keep it for the future. One day you will thank me.
    Get a cheap, boring cheese grater mac pro for boring day to day stuff, and keep your current G5 for fun!
     
  5. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #5
    I love my Quad and Dual but come on, what can they do that a Mac Pro can't?
     
  6. oi!, May 21, 2016
    Last edited: May 21, 2016

    oi! Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #6
    Pretty sure I read back in the day reviews that a maxed out Quad Core G5 posted higher scores than an entry level mac pro on some tests.
    However, it was a while back. Plus I can't guarantee the journalistic accuracy of a review I read 10 years ago, after all, remember the journalists moto...
    "Never let the facts get in the way of a good story."

    Hmm, lets take a closer look at the specs...
    Intel 2.0Ghz dual core x2 (32bit) Vs PowerPC 2.5Ghz dual core x2 (64bit).
    1Gb ram 667MHz DDR2 via dual 1.33GHz 64-bit bus Vs 16Gb of 533MHz DDR2 via dual 1.25GHz 64-bit bus.
     
  7. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #7
    I think those early tests were largely using apps without universal binaries - so the Intel machine was running the app under Rosetta - which made for a poorer outcome than the G5 running it native.
     
  8. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #9
    As I understand it, running CS2 really is a torture test for the computer because(as is par for the course for Adobe) it's designed to use G5-specific instructions where beneficial. Rosetta was only able to emulate a G4. 10 years later, CS2 still absolutely flies on a G5 and CS4 is no slouch either.

    I'd be interested in running the same series of benchmarks on my late '11 MBP(dual core 2.4ghz i5 w/HT) if I ever get around to installing SL or in the SL virtual machine on my mid-'12 MBP(quad 2.3 i7 w/HT). I suspect that either of these could give a Quad a run for its money even with the program being crippled under Rosetta.
     
  9. Power_Mac_Fanatic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Power_Mac_Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    #10
    So what your saying is I should not do anything but upgrade them ram and video card and HDD?
     
  10. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #11
    Pretty much. It would be better value and simpler to purchase your desired spec of G5 instead of making a frankenmac by swapping the logic board and CPUs and trying to coax a 10+ year old liquid cooling system into reliable action.
     
  11. oi! Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #12
    I have a friend who works for a company that makes high end circuit boards. Mainly for stuff like medical equipment, research, telecommunications research, military, satellites, Formula 1, etc.

    They would run a mile from water cooling, even brand new factory stuff!
    (I once mentioned it to them, I didn't install it as a result of that conversation - I really should sell it)
    But then, they're not a mac person.
     
  12. smacrumon Suspended

    smacrumon

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    #13
    As a side question, why are you persisting with this earlier technology? Would you not be able to achieve a lot more with an upgraded unit? Good on you though for continuing to use these Macs! Just a curious question. Cheers.
     
  13. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
    #14
    That's not the point of the PowerPC Mac forum.
     
  14. smacrumon Suspended

    smacrumon

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    #15
    Sorry. Please point me to the rules of the PowerPC Mac forum so I can abide by them...
     
  15. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #16
    Some of us like older Apple products and are interested by the older architectures. I quite happily use a PowerBook G4 and PowerMac G5 alongside my Intel Macs.

    Just because something is out of warranty, doesn't make it useless and need replacing.
     
  16. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
    #17
    Exactly. I still don't get why people feel the need to tell us to upgrade. It's really getting old.

    But hey, you can always upgrade that old PowerBook for an iPad Pro, right ;) :p
     
  17. Power_Mac_Fanatic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Power_Mac_Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    #18
    It is intriguing and still has a use for some things!
    --- Post Merged, May 23, 2016 ---
    Power Macs were really in my opinion the best macs ever made! For me its the fact that a 10 year old computer can still be fast on the internet. My iMac G4 1ghz still out preforms my newer pentium 4 ht dell! And as MagicBoy pretty much said power macs are fun to use and to mess with. Its hust how you want to use them.
     
  18. smacrumon Suspended

    smacrumon

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    #19
    Great. More power to you all. The designs of those machines are quite nice and very original. I can only claim to go back as far as an iMac that's still in use from 2008, but that runs the current OS, so not a power Mac and not in the same class as your commitments. Well done!
     
  19. oi! Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #20
    Why do people ride a horse when you can buy a car?
    Why do people drive classic cars, when you can buy new ones?
    Why have antique furniture, when you can get new from a store?

    I'm not an expert I just know what I like, and I'd an MDD case, that ran as fast as a brand new mac pro. Ran all my old programs, plus any any new one I loaded. Ran silently, reliably and was affordable to by budget. Has a mac OS9 environment, but that has all the capabilities of El Capitan.

    That computer and OS do not exist, so I'll keep my G4 and leopard, for now at least. I got a G5 to replace it, and there it is, gathering dust since I bought it in January. Nearby the mac pro I got to replace the unused replacement, it too gathers dust. I will change over. One day. Probably. But not today, I think.
     

Share This Page