Quick noob question about Jailbreaking - Does it affect the actual PHONE part?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by TheSahand, Dec 30, 2008.

  1. TheSahand macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #1
    If i use quickPwn on mac to jailbreak my iPhone (3G), firmware 2.2, will there be any risk of losing the activation ?
    as in will i still be able to call and text and use 3G and all?

    because i didn't activate at home, i activated at Walmart, so i'm not entirely sure. Because i know you use itunes to restore a modded iPhone firmware to bring in cydia and whatnot, but does that at all mess with the actual telephone, 3G connecting part of the iPhone?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    What does Wal-mart have to do with any of the equation? It's fine.
     
  3. Sirobin macrumors 6502

    Sirobin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #3
    It sounds to me like he thinks because he activated it there, he won't be able to re-activate it at home. But yeah, no worries, you're fine.
     
  4. TheSahand thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #4
    yes exactly

    because doesnt an itunes restore completely wipe the device? I'm all for jailbreaking so i can customize the screen and all, but i just dont wanna mess with anything so my parents say "Why did you ruin it" blah blah blah and then consider taking it away if it caused to much trouble

    but going with the quickpwn, restoring with the custom .ipsw and installing cydia and all, my iPhone will wake up detecting 3G and at&t networks and everything?
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    No. In any case if it does, use Pwnage to create an Activated .ipsw and you are set.
     
  6. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #6
    If he does that he will have no cell service.

    @OP - iTunes will activate it just fine after the restore.
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Umm, no. I did it in order to use my iPhone outside the US.

    Here is what happens. Even if you are unlocked, the activation screen pops back again. Its a new security measure. However, using an Activated firmware solves this problem. It allows AT&T usage and any other carrier.

    You will get cell service.
     

Share This Page