Quick Question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Andy B, Nov 6, 2010.

1. Andy B macrumors newbie

Hi Guys,

Sorry to ask a question that's possibly been addressed many times, but I've tried a number of searches and haven't been able to get a definitive answer.

I'm about to buy a Mac Pro 12 core and I need to know whether it's better to stick to 2s, 3s or 4s when grouping ram. I'm either going to go for 6x4 gig sticks, or 8x4 gig sticks.
    I also have a Mac Pro Quad, bought earlier this year. At the moment it has 3x4 gig sticks but I'd really like to add another 4 gig stick to max things out (this is for loading samples, not for application performance) - is this going to cause any problems?.

Thanks in advance.

Andy.

2. PhoenixMac macrumors 65816

im no ram expert but from what im reading on these forums the general consensus is the more ram the better, I would go with the 8gb sticks so you can just add more later without having to upgrade the 8gb sticks as those are the biggest you can go per stick. and you can go ahead and use all slots in your quad you wont see performance go down by going dual dual channel over tri channel

3. andalusia macrumors 68030

andalusia

The OP didn't mention using 8GB sticks, I assume because he doesn't want to pay that much for them, rather than not knowing about them.

4. Andy B thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the reply Guys. I've been told that the most that the 12 core can handle is 32 gigs (8x4 sticks) and the Quad, 16 (4x4 Sticks). If that's correct then surely there'd be no reason to get the more expensive 8 gig sticks?

Thanks,

Andy.

5. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

That's what Apple offers. DP Mac Pro can take 64GB and SP can take 32GB when using 8GB modules. 8GB kits are only 100-200$ more expensive than similar 4GB kits

http://www.transintl.com/store/category.cfm?Category=2865&RequestTimeOut=500

6. Andy B thread starter macrumors newbie