Quickest way to switch between multiple windows of same application?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by bjb.butler, May 18, 2015.

  1. bjb.butler macrumors 6502a

    bjb.butler

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #1
    Specifically, I'm talking about Microsoft Word. I often have multiple windows open and need to switch between them frequently. At the moment, I'm keeping them in full-screen mode and using the four finger swipe gesture to move between them. It works okay, but if you swipe to other applications, then Command + Tab back to Word, it'll mess up the order of the full screen apps, so you might have Safari or iTunes in between your two Word documents.

    Command + Tab cycles through the applications you have running, not individual windows. Is there a way (either built-in or with a third-party app) to replicate the Alt + Tab shortcut on windows, where it cycles through all open windows, regardless of application?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. gr8tfly, May 18, 2015
    Last edited: May 18, 2015

    gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    For frontmost app, CMD-` or CMD-SHIFT-` to select in reverse, will cycle through its windows. But, I don't know of one that does this regardless of app. I would think using CMD-tab to get back to the app, then the CMD-` would work.

    ('`' is the '~' key)
     
  3. Toutou macrumors 6502a

    Toutou

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    #3
    Just to make sure - are you aware of the second four finger gesture, the one that shows only one app's windows? (doesn't work in fullscreen)
     
  4. Davmeister macrumors 6502

    Davmeister

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #4
    This no longer appears to work in El Capitan.
     
  5. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #5
    Which bit, the gesture or the kdb shortcuts?
     
  6. Icarus3000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    #6
    i don't know if this helps but i think i do the same thing for Logic- same application running on different windows.

    I've set up in system preferences, keyboard, shortcuts, mission control and set up keyboard short cuts option key 1, option key 2 etc to switch to screen 1,2 etc etc

    hope that works for ya
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page