Quitting smoking today (05/12/2010)

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by JLatte, May 12, 2010.

1. JLatte macrumors 6502

I wanted to use this forum as a way to document my quitting smoking. I didn't want to spam friends on facebook, but would like to share my experiences with complete strangers, or for anyone else that's interested in quitting as well.

About me: I've been smoking daily for 11 years. The past year, I just haven't completely felt 100% me. I know how my body used to feel, I just miss being able to run and not feel like my lungs are going to catch fire. I miss being able to jog. I miss being able to even go on a longer walk and not feel winded halfway through. Hell, I just wish I wouldn't get so damn winded when climbing stairs.

Originally, this year I had set a goal that I would want to quit by August 1st. Then last night I was thinking to myself... if I'm already telling myself I'm going to quit, why not quit now? So, with that being said, I threw away half a pack of cigarettes, my lighter, my ashtray at home. When I came to work today, I avoided drinking coffee as I always do. I figure I'll get back to drinking coffee and alcohol once I make it 2 weeks without nicotine. It's been way difficult to suppress the craving for a cigarette after lunch. I do, however, enjoy not smelling like an ashtray all the time.

So far, I'm incredibly irritable, at least internally. I'm doing a great job of covering it up and appearing positive at work, but all I can think about is stepping outside and getting my fix. I really hate repeating myself to people at work today (I normally don't). I have trail mix, sunflower seeds and gum to keep me busy. I brought a book to read when I go outside for air instead of a cigarette. So far, I'm just glad that I've made it ~13 or so hours since my last cigarette at midnight the previous.