RAID card now adds 2-3 week delay

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bowler357, Dec 28, 2007.

  1. bowler357 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #1
    Don't know if anyone else mentioned it. But if you add a RAID card as a BTO to a mac pro or Xserve your ship date goes to 2-3 weeks. Sign of new MP or Xserve at Mac World? :confused:
     
  2. MikeL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    #2
    Not to introduce any rationality or common sense here, but it's more like a sign of them being out of RAID cards.
     
  3. timestamp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #3
    Also, any BTO extends it to 4-6 days, up from the 2-4 days that was customary before.
     
  4. bowler357 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #4
    What's with the attitude man?

    A couple of weeks ago you could add a RAID card and ship time was only 2-3 days
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    This is an interesting development. I don't really expect the RAID card to be a major feature that would be some proof of an update though.
     
  6. MikeL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    #6
    Don't confuse attitude with sensibility. I know it's not as much fun to take things in the least offensive way, but it's never the wrong way to go.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    I'm going to have to agree with MikeL here.

    Processor upgrades or the Mac Pro delay in general would be a better sign.
     
  8. bowler357 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #8
    My logic on this was as follows:

    If Apple plans on making a major upgrade to the Mac Pro, the current RAID card may no longer be compatible and they have now depleted their stock of the current model since they had not ordered any new ones from the manufacturer. Thus the 2/3 week delay would result in the order never being placed since the new model would be announced by the time the order was supposed to ship. I don't think it is that far-fetched.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    It's a PCI-Express card. :confused:

    They're going to have to make a very dramatic change.

    It's like saying no expansion cards.
     
  10. timestamp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #10
    Processor upgrades take it back 4-6 days, up from 2-4. I am sure they have enough stock Pros, so I doubt those would be delayed.
     
  11. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #11
    Or built in raid...thus no need for a card.
     
  12. valdore macrumors 65816

    valdore

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, Missouri. USA
    #12
    Dammit. Does this mean I have to buy some bloody card for my Mac Pro, in addition to the second hard drive I'm getting, before I can run a mirrored RAID?
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    You can run a software RAID.
     
  14. valdore macrumors 65816

    valdore

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, Missouri. USA
    #14
    Which do you guys recommend?
     
  15. bowler357 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #15
    Exactly!
     
  16. MikeL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    #16
    Built in hardware RAID is pretty unlikely. That's a bit of grasping at straws while unrealistically raising expectations.
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    I went and checked the Intel server chipsets as well.

    Do you of one with built-in hardware RAID?
     
  18. Macinposh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Kreplakistan
    #18
    The damn motherboard of MP has always had a integrated raid 0,1 and 5, as far as I know!!

    It´s just that the osx apparently doesnt know how to use it so apple has disabled it.


    Are you taking a piss?

    If not,the OS X has a software raid in it. It is fairly fast with relatively low CPU usage. About 15-40% slower than HW raid depending on the disk setup. It can do 0 and 1 (supported) but also 0+1 and 10 (not supported,need to put them together with terminal).
    The software raids work just fine from my experience.
    Been running raid10 for last 16 months with no problems.
     
  19. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #19
    Is there any change to the bus or slots that could be coming with the S/S and its SSE4?

    Getting the same report here in the UK store.
     
  20. Eric Lewis macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #20
    what do you guys do?

    sit there everyday checking bto on all macs and seeing if there is a delay?

    like get a life

    come on..its just prob delayed or they are out of them or something
     
  21. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
  22. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #22
    Well I've found that the 5000X among other Intel chipsets does have a software RAID but not a hardware one.
     
  23. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #23
    That's interesting too. Does anyone think that the MacPro could be released before MacWorld? That way they can stick with a bunch of other stuff for MacWorld? 1/1/08 could be an interesting day. ;)
     
  24. Macinposh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Kreplakistan
    #24
    ?

    I mean,from the day one about "everyone" here ranted about how the mobo has the hardware support for HW raid?? I personally have a faint recollection of reading a PDF in witch there was stated that the motherboard supports the forementioned raids, under XP.

    So,how on earth can a motherboard have a raid implemented in it,being software driven and not hardware?
    So are all the other pc (talking about intel and amd supported PC side motherboard) that state that they have hardware raids actually software raids?
    I mean, I think I have had one,run raid0 on it and thinkin it always was a HW one...



    Eidoran,Not to kick you in the proverbal boob,just curious...
    :)
     
  25. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #25
    I was one as well to think that there was a hardware RAID on the motherboard. I read Intel's documentation and they consistently say software RAID. There might be some low level firmware implementation and drivers behind it but software is slammed right next to RAID every time in Intel's own PDFs.
     

Share This Page