ram for 2010 Mac Pro 2.8 Quad, 1066 or 1333?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by parkie, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. parkie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #1
    I've just ordered some 1066 but have just read about being able to update to hex cores and 1333. should I have ordered 1333 stuff instead ready for the a hex core at a later date?

    hope you can help

    p
     
  2. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Yes. All 2010 Mac Pros actually ship with 1333MHz memory and that is the only speed supported officially.
     
  3. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #3
    if you can switch the order for no charge do so.
     
  4. parkie thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #4
    thanks, all sorted now. The crucial memory finder selected 1066 stuff for my 2010 quad core. now the only question is, how much to get. hmm
     
  5. TheDoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #5
    I grabbed a 3x4GB kit - great speed performance increase and allows me to add another 4GB stick in there at a later time if I wish.
     
  6. c:v macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #6
    My Mid-2010 Quad shipped with 1066...
     
  7. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #7
    I put the faster RAM in mine. It was ten bucks more and probably more future proof.
     
  8. parkie thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #8
    mine too btw, it came with 1066 in it, made by hynix I think

    p
     
  9. TheDoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #9
    I know Apple says that it ships with 1066, but almost every report I've seen (including my own machine) reads as 1333.
     
  10. c:v macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #10
    Um. I'm not Apple... I clearly stated that MY mid-2010 quad came with 1066 RAM. So what exactly are you saying?
     
  11. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #11
    first month of 2010 quad 2.8 machines have 1066. last months has 1333. I have 1066. I went out and grabbed 16gb of 1066 really quickly. So If I want to upgrade to a hex I am going to need to upgrade my ram. When the time comes I may trade the 1066 off. Or I may get a new mac pro depends on the price of a hex core in 2013. (apple care runs out).
     
  12. TheDoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #12
    Easy tiger - just reiterating to the OP that 1333 sticks are recommended and that even Apple is shipping them, despite saying that they are shipping 1066.
     
  13. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #13
    The Hex will work fine with 1066 memory! The difference in any real world app speed will be ~1% (compared to 1333) when running the slower mem.

    cheers
    JohnG
     
  14. brentsg macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #14
    Did you look up the part number online, because that is what I thought at first glance?

    I saw PC3-10600EE and my mind jumped to 1066.

    But my memory of JEDEC is just faulty. PC3-10600 is 1333 and PC3-8500 is 1066.

    Of course YMMV.
     
  15. frocco macrumors 6502

    frocco

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #15
    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro5,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 2.8 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 4

    I just put 1066 in, is it true I can swap this out for 1333?

    I just purchased this last week.
     
  16. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #16
    Either mem type will work but only at the slower speed due to the Quad-Core.
     
  17. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #17
    The OEM processor is the W3580, which only runs at 800 or 1066MHz. You can use faster RAM, but as stated, it will downclock.

    Now if you swap out the CPU for one that can utilize 1333MHz RAM, such as the W3680, then it can run it at max speed. ;)
     
  18. frocco macrumors 6502

    frocco

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    #18
    Are you saying that i would not gain anything by changing to 1333?
    I see the imac has 1333.

    Thanks
     
  19. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #19
    ZERO gain with the Quad processor. ~1% gain if you had a Hex processor.

    cheers
    JohnG
     
  20. c:v macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #20
    No, I just checked system profiler.
     
  21. mrgq macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #21
    Actually I just recently purchased a Mac Pro (quad core) and it came with 1066 memory. You could buy the 1333 but if you have the quad core (nehalem) they would downclock to 1066. The only advantage of buying the 1333 now is that if you ever upgraded the CPU to a hexa core (westmere) then you wouldn't need to buy new memory.
     
  22. TheDoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #22
    System Profiler will always say 1066 because that is what it is being clocked down to. If you want to know for sure, you'll have to look at the physical sticks themselves.
     
  23. skyline r34 macrumors 6502

    skyline r34

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    #23
    Need advice I have 8GB of ram inside of my 2010 Mac Pro 12-Core, How Much ram is recommended, People say it's better to have 1GB of ram for every core and sense the 12-core has 24 virtual cores do you think it's wise to get 24GB of ram to put in the Mac Pro?
     
  24. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #24
    What are you doing with the system (software <and what's running at the same time that's actually active>, file sizes, ...)?

    Without detailed information, it's just a wild guess that could cause you to waste money, so please be as precise as possible. ;)
     
  25. bigbadbenny macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Location:
    Collingwood
    #25
    Re: How much?

    You can install up to 8x8GB in the 12core, best to install matched kits, sets of three (aka triple channel) slightly "faster" than sets of 4. Check out the app "Do I Need More Memory?" and check out MacPerformanceGuide.com for more info :)
     

Share This Page