• Did you order new AirTags? We've opened a dedicated AirTags forum.

Vince Uy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 7, 2020
1
0
Hi,

I am looking to upgrade my iMac (21.5-inch, Mid 2011) 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5. Based on research, I found available compatible RAMs. But when I tried verifying with their tech support, they told me that they were not compatible.

Can you guys help me? These are the ones I found that are I think compatible with my iMac

Crucial 4 GB DDR3 RAM

Kingston 4 GB DDR3 RAM

Thanks!


EDIT:
So, the tech support replied why the above mentioned were incompatible is because of this link. I am still not sure what is the difference from the first product links to his product link?
 
Last edited:

ZenSurfeur

macrumors 6502
Feb 25, 2020
253
98
you can get samsung ram I got 4 of them Samsung 8Go
yes this is DDR3 L means it can accept both 1,5v or lower voltage 1,35v :)
despite this a 1600Mhz modul it works like a charm at 1333Mhz
 
Comment

Franzern23

macrumors newbie
Apr 14, 2020
11
0
Do the RAMs need to be 4gb each or can I also buy 2x 8gb RAM?

what do you think of the three below?
The Corsair is the cheapest while OWC and Crucial are pricier. Is there a significant difference among the below?

- Corsair CMSA16GX3M2A1333C9 Apple Mac 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1333Mhz CL9
- Crucial CT2K8G3S1339M 16GB (8GBx2) (DDR3/DDR3L, 1333 MT/s, PC3-10600, SODIMM, 204-Pin)
- OWC 32 GB (4 x 8 GB) 1333 MHz 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10600 CL9
 
Comment

ZenSurfeur

macrumors 6502
Feb 25, 2020
253
98
you can use 8Gb without any problem
As I told you I use samsung DDR3L 4 x 8Gb module
All noticed modules are ok :) so you can buy the cheapest ones corsair is a good trademark
 
Comment

Franzern23

macrumors newbie
Apr 14, 2020
11
0
Great, thanks. I was just wondering as you use the 1600mhz if there is an issue in the long-term. Since Samsung also has the 1333mhz available as well
 
Comment

ZenSurfeur

macrumors 6502
Feb 25, 2020
253
98
in my macbook pro 15" 2011 core i7 (sandy bridge) the same ram are running at 1600Mhz so I tought it would be the same in my iMac 27" 2011 i7 but not simply at 1333Mhz
 
Comment

Franzern23

macrumors newbie
Apr 14, 2020
11
0
Understood, I will then buy the Corsair as they give the most value €70 compared to 85-120€ for Samsung, Crucial and OWC
 
Comment

Franzern23

macrumors newbie
Apr 14, 2020
11
0
Does it make sense to keep the in-house DDR inside the Mac or will this lead to some issues due to incompatibility?
 
Comment

ZenSurfeur

macrumors 6502
Feb 25, 2020
253
98
I don't think there will be an incompatibility.
Use the largest modules in ports left and right but in the farest from you
 
Comment

ZenSurfeur

macrumors 6502
Feb 25, 2020
253
98
NrSyVsv.jpg

it will be more explicit :)
Largest capacity ram modules in dimm 0
Lower capacity ram modules in dimm 1
example you have 2 x 8Gb and 2 x4Gb
put the 2 x 8Gb in dimm 0 and the 2 x 4 Gb in dimm 1
 
Comment

jackhardy

macrumors newbie
Nov 15, 2020
1
0
When you come to buy electronics, you need to be very cautious as it is very easy to get duplicate products. Last 3 years, I have been buying from BuyKingston and it is giving satisfying products. After I found their products doing very well for me, it became one of the best places to buy electronic components online. It seems promotional I guess but this is my genuine feedback. I'm not overloading several websites here and want to confuse you. I recommend what I have used and found helpful.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.