RAM upgrade went wrong

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by grandM, Apr 2, 2014.

  1. grandM macrumors 6502a

    grandM

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    #1
    So I've bought 2 kits of ram to put in my new mini
    I pull as instructed to eject the current ram, quite gently
    Apparantly one of the black attachments within the clicking mechanism breaks
    After several attempts my mini 2012 works with the new ram
    but one of the clicking stirs is broken and bows off, so one of the the ram bars is no longer enclosed by the clicking device & the device hangs over to the right :(
    Is this harmful in any way
    would apple repair it (mini is less than a month old)
     
  2. 808? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    If the new ram you installed works, then just leave it be.

    Getting the ram holding clips replaced will be a tedious and expensive task, it won't be covered by AppleCare.
     
  3. SoCalReviews, Apr 3, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2014

    SoCalReviews macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    #3
    If the system works it's not harmful. The only issue if the RAM becomes dislodged in the future from the Mini being moved or bumped because the hold down tabs are broken. Otherwise it might be fine for the life of the Mini.

    If you think the two RAM upgrade sticks would go back in and work ok if you remove them then you could try putting the stock RAM back in and make sure the system works. Since it is only a month old you could take it in to an Apple store and see if they will replace the unit. While that may technically not be covered by warranty those RAM tabs do seem to be extremely fragile and prone to breaking despite being careful with the tabs. That would be the argument I would make if I had to.

    I wouldn't be surprised if they simply replace the Mini for you. If they don't then you could just put the upgrade RAM back in the machine. If the machine continues to work ok after re-installing the upgrade RAM then just leave it as is but if you have to you could try using very small strips of electrical tape to help secure the RAM. Don't use a big piece or too much tape since that could block air flow and heat dissipation in the Mini.
     
  4. dudedude macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    #4
    For what it's worth I recently upgraded the RAM in my new mini and despite installing RAM in plenty of computers over the years it took me 3 times to get the RAM seated right. I didn't like how the modules would click into place despite them not being fully seated. The clips also tend to bend when trying to get the RAM in. They felt extremely flimsy. I was happy that nothing broke when I did the upgrade but I'm not surprised this would happen to people.
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    dudedude wrote above:
    [[ They felt extremely flimsy. I was happy that nothing broke when I did the upgrade but I'm not surprised this would happen to people. ]]

    Poor, cheap design.
    The designers should know better...
     
  6. grandM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    grandM

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    #6
    As it works I guess I'd better let it be
     
  7. 808? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Yes, just don't move your mini around to suddenly and it should be fine.
     
  8. grandM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    grandM

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    #8
    Bit of a shame though
    Was planning putting in a ssd once prices had dropped
    Not sure I dare breaking it open again
     
  9. 808? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    Actually you can add a 2nd hard drive without removing the ram, you just have to have very steady hands when sliding the logic board out. There is just enough clearance ( I have done this myself).
     
  10. grandM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    grandM

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    #10
    All the videos removed the ram first or am I mistaken
     
  11. 808?, Apr 5, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2014

    808? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    They suggest that, but it is not mandatory, it is just there is very little clearance between the edge of the ram and the opening of the case when you slide out the logic board, but as I said if you keep it 100% level and steady you can get it in and out with the ram still seated.

    Which ram slot did you break the clips on, the top or bottom slot?
     
  12. grandM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    grandM

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    #12
    one clip broke: bottom right
    bottom I mean: once opened the mini, lying on the apple logo
     
  13. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #13
    The OP wrote above:
    [[ Bit of a shame though
    Was planning putting in a ssd once prices had dropped
    Not sure I dare breaking it open again ]]

    Relax, you can still add all the benefits and speed of having an SSD drive, WITHOUT opening the case.

    Just get something like this:
    http://oyendigital.com/hard-drives/store/U32-M.html
    or this:
    http://plugable.com/products/usb3-sata-u3

    The latter (a USB3/SATA docking station) will be the fastest, easiest and cheapest of all.

    You will have a formatted SSD, mounted on the desktop, ready to receive your OS, within 5-10 minutes of opening the box.

    And it will give you boot and running speeds that will be indistinguishable from an internally-mounted drive.
     
  14. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #14
    Since you broke it there is no reason why Apple should repair it for free no matter how long you have owned it.

    If you buy a new car and wrecked it would you expect the dealer to fix it?

    The retailer/dealer/manufacture can not be held responsible for the negligence of the owner/user.

    I am not trying to be rude or confrontational, just pointing out how I see it.
     
  15. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #15
    yeah but you have not opened 300

    2010,2011,2012 minis I have and 6 came with broken clips before I touched the mini i looked and saw the were bent too much.. Why they are too cheap and the Chinese worker that had a bad day and bent one of those too much is not going to tell his boss he did it.

    To the op you should closes your eyes and think back to the event of the ram change. I think you may recall that one clip was a bit off when you started the switch of the sticks. You just got flustered and did not recall the event correctly. I got all 6 minis replaced free of charge apple knows this weak clip and or bent clip is an issue..

    Now some may say apple did this because I purchased 300 minis. I do not know if that is the case.
     
  16. RCAFBrat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #16
    My two cents:

    I think your example does not fit.

    While I am skeptical that Apple would fix or replace the OP's Mini under warranty, there is a case to be made. On Apple's website they clearly suggest that RAM is upgradeable (add memory with a twist). Also, as noted in this thread, the tabs are somewhat delicate or flimsy. Therefore, if normal precautions, force, etc are used when performing the upgrade and something breaks, would this not be due to a manufacturing or design flaw (ie tabs should be more robust)?

    Trying to come up with an automotive equivalent but not easy; essentially it would be something breaking while performing a routine maintenance task as opposed to your wrecking a new car in an accident or due to dangerous driving and expecting it to be fixed.

    Getting back to the OP's Mini, since it is working fine there probably isn't much can be done about it but it may be worth a shot.

    Cheers,


    Mike
     
  17. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #17
    @RCAFBrat
    @philipma1957

    Those are both valid arguments.
     
  18. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #18
    Thank you.
     
  19. grandM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    grandM

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    #19
    Well I'm lucky the entire 16 GB got recognized after serious fiddling. But I'm not content. I handled it with extreme care. It shouldn't have gotten wrecked. I don't know what apple would do if I'd contact them. I guess it will be a lot of fuss.
     
  20. casperes1996 macrumors 65816

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #20
    Let me ask you this

    Why haven't you just asked Apple whether they'd do it? I mean, we can all sit here and speculate, but isn't it easier to just call Apple or go to an Apple store and ask if they'd do it under AppleCare or you'd have to pay?
     
  21. grandM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    grandM

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    #21
    As it works I don't know if it's worth the hassle
    Bought it online & I really need it
    Even if they swap it it will be a lot of fuss
     
  22. SoCalReviews, Apr 19, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2014

    SoCalReviews macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    #22
    If you are ok with it working as it is then that's ok and just leave it as is. If it was my machine I would definitely ask Apple since the Mini is effectively new. IMO it would be worth the hassle to try. Do a full Time Machine Backup first onto an external HD and then you could try taking it in to an Apple store with your online purchase receipt available and with the stock RAM. Explain to them that even though you were very careful one of the pins was simply broken. While it could have been your fault there could have been a fragility issue with it before you tried to upgrade it. There is a good chance Apple might be willing to replace/swap it. At least then you have the replacement option available even if you decide at that time that you don't want to go through the hassle to swap it out.
     
  23. grandM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    grandM

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    #23
    I called apple
    They couldn't be sure until they saw the device
    But they did say that as the damage was caused by putting the ram in myself they probably wouldn't cover it
     
  24. beer barrel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    #24
    No way indistinguishable

    You remember using firewire 400 to talk to your tape-based video camera, don't you? Remember how synced everything was, whip the joggle back and forth and the video marched in real and accelerated time without lurching - even on a G4.

    That's called Time Synchronization, exactly what USB is not. Even USB 3.

    Trying to use your USB 3 drive as a boot drive is an invitation to disaster. It'll work, much of the time - but as soon as a retry occurs due to datagram loss, OS stability is toast. Please don't suggest that USB 3 drives are good for anything but storage - I use two USB 3 drives on my machine.

    What's necessary for sufficient speed is Thunderbolt with its expensive cables and a wall-wart powered daisy-chainable drive adapters (e.g. seagate makes a respected one) that adhere to the SATA-3 format.

    With some strategic daisy-chaining, Thunderbolt will even split your OS install with software RAID striping across multiple drives and make your computer REALLY FAST! We are talking about nearly 1Gb/s. The thunderbolt wire, 10 Mb/s (the new one is 20!) will saturate with SSD supplied data as fast as the SSD cluster can possibly put on the line!

    Forget USB 3. If you want external boot drives that won't destabilize your OS - thunderbolt is the only way.
     

Share This Page