RAM Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by etsi, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. etsi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    I have decided to upgrade the memory of mac mini server 2011. The cheaper option is to just buy 2x4GB@1333Mhz. I am thinking if it worth to buy 2x4GB@1866 which is not supported by the cpu but it seems to increase the performance for apps and graphics. The most expensive option is to buy 2x8GB but the cost it way too much. Do you think prices will drop soon and better wait to upgrade to 16GB ?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Do you know for certain that you will benefit from more RAM? To determine if you can benefit from more RAM, launch Activity Monitor and look at the System Memory tab at the bottom. If your Page Outs are significant during normal use, you may benefit from more RAM. Be aware that Page Outs are cumulative since your last restart, so restart your Mac and track Page Outs under normal workload.
     
  3. etsi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #3
    I am sure I will benefit from 8GB when I run Aperture or some other apps that need memory. I have noticed the free memory also is going to 0 but it doesn't slow me too much.

    Right now pages in: 19GB, out: 13.7GB , uptime 6 days.

    GPU is using 256MB out of 4GB. Maybe 8GB would be enough?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    If your last 6 days have been normal usage, it looks like more RAM would help.
     
  5. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #5
    If unsupported by CPU, why would it increase the preformance of apps and graphics? Especially if the GPU is built into the CPU and the memory controller is on the CPU as well?
     
  6. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #6
    the new mac mini will run 1600 ram and 1866 ram with real benefits. it is helpful for the 2.3 base and the server. both will be a bit quicker in the graphics then with 1333. the true back for the buck is this ram


    http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Modu...XAAK/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1321323349&sr=8-5

    64 dollars I am running it in one of my servers right now
     

    Attached Files:

  7. etsi, Nov 16, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2011

    etsi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #7
    1600Mhz @ cl9 vs 1866Mhz @ cl11 which will be better choice?

    Mac mini will only work with kingston memories above 1333Mhz or anything will do?
     
  8. philipma1957, Nov 16, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2011

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #8
    Don't know for sure,but Kingston 1600 HyperX and kingston 1866 HyperX both claim to do so and both have been tested and work on the 2011 server
    Mac mini. As far as I know no one has shown other 1600 or 1866 ram to work.



    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...3 8gb plug&name=Laptop Memory&Order=BESTMATCH






    note they both claim to be Plug n Play. No other ram that I know of does this.

    _____________________________________________________________________________________________
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231295


    This is my goto ram for 2011 mac minis. It works and runs 35 to 45 bucks for 8gb. I have placed it in over 50 2011 mac minis. I have only had 1 bad pair out of 50. It will improve the mac mini's over all performance. I would say use it in most cases.

    _______________________________________________________________________________________________________
    http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Modu...XAAK/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1321436674&sr=8-6


    I have these in my mac mini server I paid 63 bucks and they make the server OR THE base mini a little bit quicker.
    __________________________________________________________________________________________________________



    http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Modu...1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1321436719&sr=1-1

    I have put these in for a few buyers in a few servers along with a few base 2011 minis . to squeeze max speed out. they cost 129 or so

    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    I feel that some people benefit from the kingston many people would not.

    As to the best choice the 1600 or the 1866.

    I push the 1600 with cl9 due to price and the fact that most of the 1333 is cl9. If you look at the link for the 8gb of low cost skill you will see it is cl9 type.

    I can measure some speed improvement with both not huge improvement. so 63 bucks vs 129 bucks makes me use the 1600 for my personal use.
     
  9. etsi, Nov 16, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2011

    etsi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #9
    Don't you lose speed using cl11 compared to cl9 timings?

    I am trying to decide which one to buy 1600 or 1866.

    Even if 1833 is cl11 it will increase performance compared to 1600 cl9 ?
     
  10. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #10
    the speed of the 1866 vs the 1600 will be about a tie due to the slower timing but the band width of the 1866 is bigger. so the best time for the 1866 to be faster is when you are beyond 7gb. 1866 x 8gb =14928 1600 x 8gb =12800 so if you are near the limit of your ram the 1866 will not page out to the hdd as fast. if you use 4gb to 6gb of the ram the 1600 will almost always do it a bit quicker. personally I don't go past 6gb ram much so the 1600 is better for me.
     
  11. etsi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #11
    On the other hand the 1866 memory will boost graphic performance (HD3000) a lot as I understand.

    I am sure I will use a lot of memory as I am running a lot of apps at the same time or apereture which uses a lot of ram.

    HD3000 is using system memory (512 mb with 8GB installed) so I will have less than 7.5GB available if I install 8GB memory.
     
  12. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #12
    Yes, a performance increase only in extreme cases, such as in benchmarks. In the RL, the CPU waits for data from the RAM, no matter how fast the RAM is.

    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/arti...e-and-Quad-Channel-Memory-Architectures/133/1

    You can save your money for other projects. ;-)
     
  13. habe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #13
    I clicked on your link earlier in the day but was short on time and didn't buy. Price at that time was $64 as you advertised.

    Just checked at 8:38est and the price jumped to $78.99!!!!!

    I think I'll wait........:mad:

    habe
     
  14. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #14
    yeah I saw that guess a lot of people read this thread and purchased it!
     
  15. Dr.Mel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    #15
    Upgrade on 2007 macbook pro

    I have been contemplating upgrading my "old" macbook pro (2.2 ghz 2gb) by adding more ram. But when looking at apple's memory upgrade its 100 per 2gb, and when I looked for it on the Fry's website it was only about $40... Is there a difference? I don't want to add the wrong one to my mac. Any advice helps.
     
  16. warvanov macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #16
    Apple charges a huge markup for the RAM that they sell but it's the same RAM that anyone else sells. There's no benefit from buying directly from Apple. Just make sure you buy the right RAM for your machine and you can save a bunch of money buying from Crucial.com or macsales.com.
     

Share This Page