Ram?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by jsmith1, Oct 30, 2018.

Tags:
  1. jsmith1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #1
    I love how Apple is always is coy about the ram and until someone else actually gets it and reveals you don’t know. Need new iPad as current is 2gb and page constant reload is crap.

    Unlike most who kept saying not big price bump, I knew it was going to be major price point for these, so unless it has 6gb for those prices since I want a Wi+Cell 256 at least, I won’t buy and go to the 10.5 pro that has 4gb and hope it’s good....
     
  2. Never mind macrumors 6502

    Never mind

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Location:
    Dunedin, Florida
    #2
    Actually not a 10.5 but 11“ now. ;) Soon someone will break it down and find out how much ram it will have.
     
  3. rui no onna macrumors 603

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #3
    Given the Photoshop demo, there might be a good chance of a RAM bump.
     
  4. jsmith1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #4
    Ok, so for all those that just can’t seem to grasp that not everyone has the latest iPad, I will spell it out one last time. I currently have the iPad 9.7 2016 WHICH has 2 gb of ram.....so if the new models do not not have at 6gb I’m thinking going to the 10.5 with 4gb.

    Does this model have with 4 have page reload issues?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 30, 2018 ---
    I will never pay $1500+ with no ram upgrade
     
  5. 007p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #5
    Given the Xs iPhones have 4gb of RAM. I would be highly disappointed and confused by still only giving the iPad Pro 4gb of RAM.

    The 12.9" first gen had 4gb of RAM released in 2015, its more than time for an upgrade, especially with the phones having caught up.
     
  6. rui no onna macrumors 603

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #6
    Honestly, it's more that I can't imagine Photoshop playing nice with just 4GB. On desktop, you typically want at least 8GB.
     
  7. 007p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #7
    Xcode suggests 6gb RAM:


    https://twitter.com/stroughtonsmith/status/1057328143453904896
     
  8. Donka macrumors 68030

    Donka

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    Current 10.5 has 4GB and is fine for Safari - not the constant page reloads you got on earlier iPads.
    The new Pros need more I believe due to the software they are demoing as well as the move to Face ID - I read the iPhone XS got 4GB over the iPhone X 3GB and one of the reasons was due to Face ID and the extra resources it required.

    6GB and I will be more interested in upgrading.
     
  9. profets macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
  10. jsmith1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
  11. Donka macrumors 68030

    Donka

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    #11
    Yup, I read 6GB for 1TB models only which really doesn't make any sense, I would be surprised if that was the case.
     
  12. rui no onna macrumors 603

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #12
    Hmm, they might have needed extra memory for the storage controller?
     
  13. Dovahkiing macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    #13
    I am skeptical. We'll find out when ifixit tears them down, but I don't think Apple would give anyone an extra two GB of RAM without charging them more money for it!
     
  14. 007p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #14
    Wow that would be crazy. I'd understand 12.9" vs 11" but not storage size. That's really something they should have stated....
     
  15. rui no onna macrumors 603

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #15
    It's $400 to upgrade from 512GB to 1TB anyway. :p
    --- Post Merged, Oct 30, 2018 ---
    Samsung 860 SSD DRAM cache:

    256GB: 512MB
    512GB: 512MB
    1TB: 1GB
    2TB: 2GB
    4TB: 4GB
     
  16. 007p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #16
    Interesting, I kind of get the technical aspects, it was more that Apple haven't stated anything. So I meant different in sizes they probably wouldn't have needed to, but difference in storage and not stating anything is a bit unfair.

    I've ordered 12.9" 1TB so I'm good either way hopefully but still :p
     
  17. JPack macrumors 68040

    JPack

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #17
    Apple already charges for the RAM on the 1TB model.

    A 512GB SSD retails for less than $200. Apple charges $400 to upgrade from 512GB to 1TB.
     
  18. Dovahkiing macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    #18
    Yeah but Apples pricing structure for memory upgrades isn't based on what it costs to manufacture. It's based on price differentiation and what people will pay them.

    I was pointing out that it would be atypical for Apple to not make this hardware difference clear at the order screen and miss an opportunity to add another spec to upsell on.
     
  19. tivoboy macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    #19
    I think any of the new models must have at LEAST 3GB if not 4GB standard. The large one, it appears is going to be higher.
     
  20. rui no onna macrumors 603

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #20
    In fairness, I don't think Apple has ever mentioned RAM on iOS devices. Usually, we just get that later from tear down, etc.
     
  21. DNichter macrumors G3

    DNichter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #21
    6GB of RAM only for the 1TB model, 4GB for everything else.
     
  22. Tapiture macrumors 65816

    Tapiture

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    #22
    With the A12X bionic each gig will go a much longer way. Comparing RAM from devices with other different specifications is like comparing apples to oranges.
     
  23. Saskat macrumors regular

    Saskat

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #23
    The 2017 iPad Pros all have 4gb. None of newer ones would go down to 3gb.
     

Share This Page

22 October 30, 2018