Re: iMac 21.5-inch: 3.2GHz i3 or 3.60GHz i5.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iread, Oct 4, 2010.

  1. iread macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #1
    I am thinking of getting two 21.5" i5 with 5% off ..

    I bought a 27" and found it big for my eyes (different post) so I am downing sizing to the 21.5" i5 and am thinking of getting two of them .. one for upstairs for clean (professional/expensive) photo scanning and editing and one for downstairs for work and everything else .. plus my husband will get my old one .. I would order today and pay for other night to get them this week .. I feel a little freaked out and want to know what you think so am a sane :confused:
     
  2. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #2
    don't you'll just find yourself annoyed that you don't have the same stuff on them and end up using the one all the time.
     
  3. iread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #3
    I understand that would happen after the photo stuff (who knows how long that will take) and was thinking at that point of selling the old one my husband got and then we would have one each of the 21.5" i5.
     
  4. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #4
    well I think you should let him decide if he wants a 27" or 21.5" ;D
     
  5. Zelnaga macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    #5
    Buy a Macbook. Then you wont have to buy both.
     
  6. pukifloyd macrumors 6502a

    pukifloyd

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Scottsdale
    #6
    Buy an i5 MBP and 2 external displays (one for upstairs and one for downstairs). It will be cheaper and you won't have to transfer data everytime.
     
  7. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #7
    Why would you have to transfer data between the machines?

    If the machines are networked then share the appropriate folders between them and you can work off the same data.

    Sure, they both have to be on at the same time but that shouldn't be a problem?
     
  8. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Sorry I dont get why you need one upstairs just for photo work! Why cant you do it all on 1 iMac?
     
  9. iread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #9
    I do have an AirPort Extreme.


    My office is not dust free or suitable or large enough for the photo job which is for personal use but at a professional level.

    I currently have a 20" which will go to my husband and I will use both of the new computers until I have done the photo work (might take a while) and then I will sell the 20" and my husband will get one of the new ones ..
     
  10. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Is there a way with OSX..... (ignoreing cost etc just curious if it is possible....)

    To have a server with all profiles on and then you can just login with your profile on any computer and it will load all your settings and dock and emails etc...

    I assume this is an OSX server feature. Can anyone confirm?

    Thanks
     
  11. iread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #11
    I would miss my iMac too much and I spend so many hours working on them .. Plus I do not travel too much.
    I was thinking of getting an iPad sometime and using that for travel if needed.

    I think you can even have them wake for such things :)

    Thank you for your post .. I was told about something like that but decided for now and both long term I would have more options if they were stand alone iMacs.
     
  12. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #12
    Sorry, I don't understand why you need two 21.5" iMacs + a 20 inch iMac.
    I'm not trying to be rude, I just want to know so I could help you out. :)
     
  13. DouchGod macrumors regular

    DouchGod

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    #13
    I would think there is, can anyone clarify this? If not then windows wins here:(
     
  14. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #14

    My school has this system. We all have our own individual accounts and we can log in from any of the school computers whether it be the Macbooks or iMacs, and have access to where I left off on the other computer. Its quite handy.

    I thought it would be a great idea for home, but it looks like you need OS X server and I wonder how hard it would be to set up. Plus, you would need some good networking, not a cheap netgear router you got for $40 bucks. (it works well though, very well)

    ^^

    That is being said in my point of view and my situation, so i'm not speaking for the OP here.
     
  15. iread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #15
    Re: iMac 21.5-inch: 3.2GHz i3 or 3.60GHz i5.
    I do not want the 27-inch.

    Please let me know if you can tell any difference between them .. I will be getting two of them and would like to get two the same:

    I will be using one for everything at home and office and online research meaning FireFox with say 10 windows up and like 30 tabs open on each.
    I will be using the other for professional grade photo scanning and editing.

    Re: iMac 21.5-inch: 3.2GHz i3 or 3.60GHz i5.
    Please let me know if you can tell any difference between them .. Thank you all.
    I will have to order them online rather than picking them up at the local store ..
    I will be on the computers like all the time so this will be affecting the next three years of my life.
     
  16. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #16
    For home, the 3.2GHz is sufficient but you may want to add more RAM from aftermarket.

    For photo stuff, the 3.2GHz is sufficient but you might benefit from the extra speed that the i5 offers. If it's work related where faster machine = more productivity = more money, then I would get the i5. Again, you may want to add more RAM
     
  17. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #17
    Anything that's photo related will mostly rely on HDD/SSD and ram. I'd consider getting SSD/ram. It's too bad 21.5 inch does not offer SSD option. You can always upgrade to aftermarket SSD on ur own tho.
     
  18. iread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #18
    I already have the extra ram ready and waiting .. I am buying two and will have to order them online rather than picking them up at the local store .. I will also be on the computers like all the time so this will be affecting the next three years of my life.

    Please:
    Can someone tell me the difference between the iMac 21.5-inch 3.2GHz i3 and the 3.60GHz i5 in practical layman terms and is there really any difference between them :confused:
     
  19. gomobile macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #19
    about 10 to 20% difference in speed. that's about it.

    Better graphic card.

    lastly support SDXC SD card which will be adopted by many in the future.


    cheer!

     
  20. stsauveur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
  21. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #21
    All the new iMacs have a built in SDXC Card slot
     
  22. iread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #22
    Please:
    Can you tell me what percentage faster the 21.5" i5 is over the 21.5" i3 :confused:
     
  23. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #23
    I already told it to you via PM when you asked. Theoretically, when just looking at the frequency, it's 12.5% faster without Turbo, 16.6% with Turbo when both cores are OCed (3.6GHz -> 3.73GHz) and 20.6% with one core Turbo (3.6GHz -> 3.86GHz)
     
  24. iread thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #24
    Thank you :eek:
    I would use the speed difference but probably not engage the turbo-boost ever .. Can you tell me if that is a large or small amount and how it translates into real usage for me :eek:
     
  25. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #25
    In photo editing, the extra speed should help but it's not a huge difference. In your home use, I doubt you would notice any difference. Again, more RAM will show greater improvements than CPU upgrades
     

Share This Page