Received my (New) G5 Quad.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by appleish19, Oct 24, 2015.

  1. appleish19, Oct 24, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2015

    appleish19 macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #1
    My G5 Quad just arrived in the mail. I am definitely going to have to clean it out. But no leaks and in great shape.:D 5GB ram, 500GB, 6600gt. Looking forward to using it. Any recommendations in general? Tips on cleaning out the dust?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #2
    More pics.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #4
    Thanks:) Have it all cleaned up now. Went though the LCS,power supply, video card area and used aluminum wipes on the outside. image.jpeg
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #5
    Nice machine! I'm having trouble sourcing another one (have had 3, 2 working 1 non functional) locally and eBay prices are crazy, where'd you find yours
     
  5. JRDN macrumors member

    JRDN

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #6
    Looks like you have a single pump LCS. How are the idle temps? I recently rebuilt my single pump LCS, coolant inside was nasty :confused:
     
  6. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #7
    Found it through EBay made an offer for 200$ and it was accepted. Couldn't believe it. Just have to wait for the power cord, mail screwed that up. :rolleyes: Will have to start looking at higher end video cards and an ssd. Hope you come across one for a reasonable price. :)
     
  7. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #8
    Haven't gotten the power cord yet. But it looks nice and dry so far. What temps should they be during idle? I have heard the quads are more reliable than the earlier dual LCS systems
     
  8. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    Was it damaged in shipping? Case looks a bit warped
     
  9. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #10
    Yes but not to badly just the bottom front foot. But I've seen much worse. I'm looking at how I might be able to "reform" the aluminum a bit.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    It looks like more of a rivet issue.. Mine has tha same issus
     
  11. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #12
    Is there anything you've found to help the problem? Overall I'm very happy with the condition. Always love to find a survivor amongst the badly wounded. :D
     

    Attached Files:

  12. JRDN macrumors member

    JRDN

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #13
    oh yeah, those block server power cords. Had to order one of those too. and found out the PSU was 1000W!
    I've read that same thing so I'm sure you're fine. I get around 40 degrees C idle with processor speed set to 'Reduced' from Automatic (fan speeds don't constantly ramp up and down when it adjusts its clock speeds). Though before I redid the lcs I was getting temperature disparities between processor cards. 90C on one and 65C on the other.

    I do have an extra Quadro FX 4500 ready to go for G5
     
  13. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #14
    Yes, I've heard they are power hogs. Should I use a separate outlet or would a surge protector shared by something else be OK? I'll have to measure the temperatures once I get the power cord. I am kind of new to graphics cards that can be replaced. What is the Quadro FX 4500 like with games vs pro apps vs 6600?
     
  14. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    6600 is really your basic card, and the FX4500 is the card for video editing. From what I have heard, anything is better tan the 6600
     
  15. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #16
    So it would be a much better card overall then. What about for gaming? I'm also looking at getting a SATA II ssd.
     
  16. JRDN macrumors member

    JRDN

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #17
    I treat it like any other computer, I've had mine on a simple power strip with shared components. FX 4500 like maccubed said is more for 3d designers and video editing but would perform better than the 6600 for sure. OpenMark score is 15769 and the 6600 is 5300-5400. Better options for gaming are out there like the 7800GTX, 7800GT and the ATI equivalents.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/some-ppc-openmark-benchmarks.1848060/
     
  17. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #18
    Awesome thanks so much. Really looking forward to being able to use it. How often should I check the liquid cooling system for leaks? I've heard monthly? Looks nice next to my iMac G5 iSight. :):apple:
     
  18. westom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    #19
    Is it so hot that it can also toast bread? How many watts in a toaster? All power strips must provide that much power. So it temperature coming out of the chassis fan in excess of 140 degrees F? It clearly is not even drawing the power of a bread toaster. As a power hog, it would be consuming 300 watts. Well below the temperatures and power consumption of a toaster.
     
  19. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #20
    I'm not sure what the max power output of an American plug is given your voltage is lower. In the UK we're on 240V at up to 13A so the maximum is about 3.1kW. My kettle is 3kW, the 2-slice toaster is 1.2kW.

    Keep in mind the PSU *can* supply *up to* 1kW on the Quad. Unless it's fully upgraded and running everything flat out it won't get near to that. My 2.0DP typically uses 280-300W, on a 600W PSU.
     
  20. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #21
    Nice machine! I hope you got the special power plug with it.
     
  21. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #22
    It's a still a standard IEC plug - the higher wattage C19 variant that's commonly used for servers and datacentre kit.
     
  22. westom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    #23
    That computer's AC power cord (and IEC connector) must provide 10 amps (on all voltage systems). Any receptacle it can connect to must be able to provide even more.

    Do the numbers. 300 watts on a 120 volt system is 2.5 amps, On a 230 volt system: 1.3 amps. Your consumption is well below what can be provided.

    Compare that to a 3kw kettle - 13 amps. If you have a power strip that cannot power that kettle, then that strip probably should be disposed.
     
  23. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #24
    I know how to work it out, just not what the USA voltage is. ;)

    Already stated that the UK standard is 13A.
     
  24. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

    MysticCow

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #25
    Congratulations on your new space heater, er, G5.

    I do love my duel 2 GHz G5, but damn, it works like a space heater so I only keep it on during the winter.
     

Share This Page