Recording from digital input Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by koruki, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. koruki macrumors 6502a

    koruki

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    Hey guys just wanted to know if anyone has tried using the digital input on the mic for recording. As most of you know the Macbook pro has digital out/in.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2541

    I peeked inside the mic hole and there is a diode or some sort just like the output.

    I have a digital out from another source running into it, so how do you actually pick it up and record it to a file?

    thanks,
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    When you connect a source to the digital in, you can select it in the Sound Preferences as Input, or directly [as an input source] in your audio editing software (GarageBand, for instance).

    As for the connector itself, it's a TOSLINK to mini-plug 3.5mm adapter (assuming you have a TOSLINK cable coming from the source). You can find them through Amazon, NewEgg, etc.
     
  3. drech macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #3
    I'm pretty sure Logic 8 saw and could use the port. I never tried it with anything else (and my mac is dead atm, so can't check).

    You using a toslink cable with the 3.5 mm optical plug? The hollow-ish tip lets it pass the stereo in to hit the digital.

    Under Applications/Utilities there is a MIDI/Audio app that allows you to configure various stuff. You might have to tweak it up in there.
     
  4. koruki thread starter macrumors 6502a

    koruki

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Yup its working thanks guys, just had to select a different input using Audacity in Preferences. Digital In, doesnt let you choose it in the UI.. weird but oh well working now thanks a lot.

    Been having fun ripping SACD from PS3 and recording it through the digital input in 24bit 96khz, amazing quality difference! :D
     
  5. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
  6. OpusOne macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    #6
    Excellent news

    This is indeed exciting. I have a rather large collection of SACDs, and I have been wondering what to do with them after I have ripped my entire CDs collection into my music server.
    I have a 60G PS3 that is capable of SACD playback. Is there some special tweek or set up to go through to enable 24/192 output on the toslink output to feed into the Macbook pro?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. dallasmacbook macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #7
    I don't see anything on my MBP 13" to indicate I have the digital IN option. Is this something that's only on the larger MBPs? I have a ART DIO AD/DA converter and wanted to use it to record some hard to find vinyl albums but it does not seem like I have that option.
     

Share This Page