region code

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BigJohno, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    Hey guys how do I reset my region code on my MBP?

    Thanks!
     
  2. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

    skyrider007

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bangkok
    #2
    If you are talking about DVD drive region code, I think you could change it up to 4 times (max and irreversible :mad:). To change it, simply insert a DVD disc from the region other than the one set on your MBP. You will then be prompted to select whether you want to change the region or not.

    Hope this helps and that it was about DVD region you were talking about. ;)
     
  3. BigJohno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    I know how to change it but I have hit the maximum times. So there is no way I can watch dvds anymore?
     
  4. Cinner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #4
    Correct, you are screwed. Your only option now is to install Windows and use software like AnyDVD to ignore region protection, or hook up an external region free DVD drive in OS X and use Region X (a utility you can download) to reset the number of times your can change its region (works only for external drives).
     
  5. BigJohno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    Why does Apple do this? Such a stupid thing!!!!
     
  6. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

    skyrider007

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bangkok
    #6
    It's not just Apple. All DVD drives in laptop have limit to the number of time that you can change the region code
     
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    Check for your DVD drive on this site. You might be able to flash it to be region free. I have successfully flashed my MacBook's drive.

    www.rpc1.org
     
  8. mckyvlle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Would that be a Santa Rosa MacBook or those HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N drives? I would be interested in finding a firmware flash for that. ;)
     
  9. SheriffParker macrumors 6502a

    SheriffParker

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Location:
    The land of love
    #9
    Didn't you get the warnings over and over again when you kept changing the region? This should hardly be a surprise.
     
  10. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #10
    No. Its a late 06 Napa with the Matsushita 857 drive.
     
  11. BigJohno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #11
    So im not supposed to watch dvds while I travel?
     
  12. heatmiser macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #12
    You're supposed to heed the "you won't be able to change it again in 4/3/2/1 events" warning :^) Looks like you're going to have to try one of the methods in this thread if you ever want to use that drive for different regions again...
     
  13. Kelly™ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #13
    PS to the OP:
    Buy a new optical drive and replace your current one, best way to fix it.
    Then sell your old one on eBay including that its locked into region code X in the info.


    cheers
     
  14. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #14
    Have you run RegionX yet? http://www.regionx.tk/
     
  15. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #15
    That only works once the drive is made region free. That's why you need to flash the drive first.
     
  16. Kelly™ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #16
    If it's not flashable, like said above, buy a new drive lol.
     
  17. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #17
    Thats not correct.
     
  18. Kelly™ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #18
    Taken from: http://www.regionx.tk/ front page

     
  19. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #19
    Not Leopard compatible, either:

     
  20. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #20
    The first four changes are written to software, the fifth change (on supported hardware) is written to the drive. It works with Leopard as well, it's just not supported.
     
  21. kfoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #21
    you can try using VLC. just change your default dvd player in system config

    works for me without having to change region code.
     
  22. isianto macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Location:
    Indonesia
    #22
    Actually if your dvd drive is uj-857-d, there's a firmware to make it region free. Here's the link
    http://www.powerbook-fr.com/dossiers/dvd_region_free_en_article30.html
    as far as region X, I found this:
    Works like a charm with 10.5.1!

    Kudos for the developers. (Version 1.1.3)
    [ Reply ]
    Jan 3 2008
    XYPHER Here's a solution for using the app with a region free drive under Leopard. (Taken from a forum).

    "Delete the ~/Library/Application Support/DVD Player directory and the ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.DVDPlayer.plist file. After running Region X again, and modifying the zones, DVD Player will now be aware of the new settings." (
    you can see it at
    http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/13801
    sorry for my english
     
  23. mutt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #23
    1. Do you have a link for this reference?

    2. Region X 1.2 is out http://xvi.rpc1.org
     
  24. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #24
    From the startup screen of Region X (now version 1.2, Leopard compatible)
     

    Attached Files:

  25. OTN777 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #25
    Still need help?!?!

    Hey gang,

    all this information seemed really useful. I went to the website indicated, found the firmware version I had KVB9 and thus downloaded the correct KBVB. When I went to launch the region free frimware update it quits on me. (did not start the firmware update at all)

    Anyone had this problem? I have the log and can post if someone thinks that could help

    Thanks

    -dar
     

Share This Page