Regretting Envy 15 Purchase

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by youngnj21, Jul 7, 2010.

1. youngnj21 macrumors newbie

Before I start, sorry for the length of this post. I just want to make sure I make the right decision before I spend more money. Now onto the post.

I had been trying to decide between a 15" MBP and an HP Envy 15 for a few months and I finally decided to go with the Envy, but now I'm regretting it. I'm so tired of Windows it's ridiculous. I'm considering selling my Envy and picking up a MPB, but I have a few questions first.

First, I'd like your opinions on what I should do. Should I try to find someone on craigslist to trade my Envy for a used current gen MBP, or just sell the Envy, cut my losses, and buy a new MBP? I am a student, so I can get the discount. I hope I can get $1000-$1200 for my Envy if I sell it.

Second, I'm a gamer, so I was wondering how the gaming performance of the base 15" MBP would compare to my Envy? The Envy has an i7 q720 processor, 6gb of RAM, and an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4830 graphics card (it is the previous generation card), and a 1080p ultra brightview screen. (Side question, is the high res screen worth the money on the MBP?)

Finally, do Macs run Windows well in boot camp? Can you tell that you're running it on a Mac, or does it run and feel just as good as it does on a pc? I have played around with OS X in the apple store, and I'm pretty impressed with the smoothness of it. I would try to stay away from windows as much as I can, but I'm thinking about switching my major to computer science and as I said before I'm a gamer, so I would have to use Windows from time to time.