Replaced HD now MBP is dead! Cannot boot from Extertnal...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by walfy1, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. walfy1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I recently learnt that its not too hard to replace your HD for a larger one on a MBP 15", so foolishly I did it and now I'm in a mess.

    I bought 2 hard drives, a 2.5" internal 500GB to go in, and a 1TB backup storage drive to use as my clone. I used carbon copy cloner to back up onto the external 1TB, then opened the mac up and changed the two internal drives over. On starting the machine up - even holding the cmd Key/option/shift whatever nothing at all happens on screen. I get 3 flashes on the front light every few seconds but no startup beep and none of the usual noises.

    Have I fried the motherboard? I've heard this is somehow possible, and can I check this? as I'm guessing they're not cheap...

    Any light you could shed would be much appreciated!!
    Thanks
     
  2. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #2
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    The first things I would do would be...

    1. Check all of your connections

    2. Boot from your install DVD and check your external drive
     
  4. walfy1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #4
    Thank you for your quick replies,

    I did not realise RAM errors could cause this kind of thing, I will open it up to check again that it is all seated properly. though I do not remember touching this, apart from removing the cover to get at the screws...

    will let you know how it goes!!

    _______________

    Have done this and it boots up fine! thank you for re-instating my faith in computers!

    But...and there always is...

    The mac is booting from the ex HD, and though system profiler recognises the internal HD I cannot seem to 'select' it within carbon copy to put the information back on the internal. I imagine this is where you say - oh you have to do this before putting the drive in, but I hope not...

    thanks again anyway!
     
  5. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #5
    Probably not formatted the right way for a Macintosh. Start "Disk Utility", then have a look how your external drive is formatted, and format the internal drive the same way. (Probably something like "HFS+ Journaled"). And Disk Utility can also copy the external drive onto the internal one.
     

Share This Page