Resolution on 20" Apple Cinema Display with 15" MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by frederikolafsen, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. frederikolafsen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #1
    Does anyone know if the resolution changes when a MBP 15" is hooked up to a 20" ACD?
     
  2. AliensAreFuzzy macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #2
    Well, normally, when you hook up an external monitor, it extends the desktop so the resolution of your 15" display will be 1440x900 and the 20" will be 1680x1050.
     
  3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #3
    It should display 1680x1050 (unless in mirrored mode). I'm on one now, connected to my 17" MBP C2D (single display).
     
  4. frederikolafsen thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #4
    My plan is to just close the MacBook and use the wireless apple keyboard with wireless mighty mouse and have the macbook hooked up to the display. Would that work?
     
  5. dmarch macrumors regular

    dmarch

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Big Sky, MT
    #5
    Yes, this is the way I am set up at home. If you have the new graphics update installed you need to start your macbook pro with the display attached, closing the lid immediately after pushing the start button. The unit will then recognize the display properly.
     
  6. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #6
    Also using my MBP this way. I haven't had any issues with the graphics update, though.

    When taking the MBP with me, I unmount external drives and put it to sleep. Then, unplug the drives (USB/FW), then the display USB, then the monitor connector. Take the MBP to destination, wake, and use normally. When I return home, I plug the display connector in, then the rest of the USB/Firewire cables. It usually wakes when the display's USB is connected. The machine is closed, and the internal display is, as expected, off.

    Using the new BT Al keyboard and BT MM.
     

Share This Page