restore ip4 tonight and re-jb ???s

bw1128

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 29, 2010
i want to restore my ip4 tonight to see if it fixes any bugs i have been having and then will re jailbreak it again tonight. whats the best way to do this?

my last back up was an hour be for i jailbroke it sunday. do you recommend me back up tonight before i restore but change the iphone name to, ie jailbrokeiphone backup, or something.

spamdumpster

macrumors 6502a
Jan 22, 2008
IMO it's always better to set up as a new phone, as some of the bugs you're experiencing could be restored to the device through the backup.

Comment

bw1128

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 29, 2010
how do you restore as a new phone, then put your last back up back on it. i have never done that before.

Comment

lorax3

macrumors regular
Jun 25, 2007
After you restore your phone it usually asks you if you would like to restore from backup, or setup as new phone.

Restoring from backup will give you a list of backups you can pick from. In iTunes on the left side where is displays your phone - right click - restore to backup

Comment

bw1128

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 29, 2010
alright, im restoring right now. hope this helps with the bugs. i should have no problem jailbreaking again right?

Comment

lorax3

macrumors regular
Jun 25, 2007
alright, im restoring right now. hope this helps with the bugs. i should have no problem jailbreaking again right?
Shouldn't. What bugs were you having before anyway? I do not have any, but be aware many JB apps are NOT yet iPhone 4 ready. Themes are broken, small icons, etc

Comment

bw1128

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 29, 2010
so i restored from my last back up, pre jailbreak. but when it was done restoring it still had cydia and all the jailbroken apps. why????

Comment

bw1128

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 29, 2010
Because you restored from your JB backup.
Restore and setup as new next time.
Nothing will be there.