Restoring data after going 4.0

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bova80, May 5, 2010.

  1. bova80 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #1
    It seems anytime i go 4.0 beta when i restore it never brings back my photos or texts. what gives? anyone else have this issue?
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2

    It's a beta, it will not work as expected. You shouldn't be using it if you are not a developer.
     
  3. bova80 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
  4. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3GS (JB3.1, unlocked): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.4 Mobile/8A260b Safari/531.21.10)

    I believe the stock response goes something like this: It's a BETA. It's not supposed to work!

    Helpful, isn't it? ;)

    Seriously though, I haven't tried restoring on either Beta 1 or Beta 3. As a rule, I set up as a new phone whenever I install beta OSes. It avoids unnecessary complications.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Either post in apple's developer forum, or just chalk it up to using a beta OS. Apple makes it very clear that this is only for testing purposes and not for your main phone. People are using it on their everyday phone, and that's fine, but you also need to expect bugs, hiccups and issues.

    I'm in the developer program myself, but I've refrained from installing the first three betas. This current one looks pretty stable, so I may jump on the next one, but I may not since I need to rely on my phone.
     
  6. davidChief macrumors regular

    davidChief

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    Warwickshire, UK
    #6
    All of my texts (and everything else) came back just fine when I restored a backup.
     
  7. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    If you have nothing useful to offer, why post at all?
     
  8. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    Some developers like to hang out here. Their posts are informative and helpful to us. Please don't suggest that they stop. They may just leave due to all the rude jerks around here.
     
  9. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    What steps did you take?

    You gotta do a restore to 4.0 and then restore from your backup.

    If you want your 4.0 data on 3.1.3, unfortunately you can't do that.
     

Share This Page