Retina 13 - overclock RAM & HD4000, how to?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by freeeman, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. freeeman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    #1
    Hi there,

    So I got my Retina 13' and all ... looks great and stuff, but yes, there are a few "lags" so to say with this HD4000 integrated graphic chip when compared to regular non-retina 13 macbook pro with same specs. Makes sense since everything is less detailed etc. you can feel the difference when doing stuff like using the launchpad etc.

    Anyway, I'd like to know how to overclock both the iGPU and the RAM (since ram speed affects the HD4000 which got no dedicated ram) This will hopefully result in a full flawless experience at least on sector.

    Is there any, any way??


    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    No. Take into account you are trying to overclock a mobile CPU and GPU. Thermals won't play nice unless you do a clock ratio overclock which isn't going to happen as all mobile CPUs are locked be default.

    Also, you can't get into a EFI/BIOS setup that displays low level modification to the hardware clocks. Finally, it is integrated GPU from Intel, it can only do so much regardless of clock. You want better GPU performance, should have gone with the GT650M; however, that still won't give you better performance since the GT650M is crap.
     
  3. Mr MM macrumors 65816

    Mr MM

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #3
    there might be way

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/gam...000-igpu-additional-voltage-vs-frequency.html
    you can try to contact him

    you can use xtu, but it has to have support from the cpu, i.e. non oem models and bios/efi support (its a simple switch). I know that the non oem quads are quite possible to oc, reaching usually 300-400mhz more, and in the xm cpus reaching 4.5-5ghz.

    aside that the thermals of the rmbp 13 are quite splendid.

    However if you need more power to gaming, why dont you buy an egpu using thunderbolt instead? there are several manufacturers available now

    mlogic mLink
    owc whatever the hell is the name
    CUBE from one stop systems (it can support a 680)
    sonnet echo express
    Magma 3t
    those are what i can remember

    Im fiddling with the idea of getting one for me, getting a mLink, or sonnet echo express SE or the owc one, is around 300 + the 650 which is around 100 + 30 from cable = 430 for a nice solution
     
  4. mykem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #4
    Intel just announced a new driver for HD4000 that increases the performance by 10% and at the same time reduces power consumption. I don't know if 10.8.4 will include the new driver but if I were you I'd wait. O/C mobile CPU and GPU just doesn't make a lot of sense to me.
     
  5. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #5
    You can't do any over-clocking in OS X (you could mess around with overriding CPU power state tables, but this will most likely fry your CPU). In Windows, there is a number of tools, like the already mentioned Intel's XTU
     
  6. freeeman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    #6
    Thanks for your answer. Do you know if XTU lets you OC ram speed also? And yes, in my mind this was mainly for the OS X experience (in particular when you set up an 'higher' resolution than the default 'retina' one. :)
     
  7. TL24 macrumors 6502a

    TL24

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #7
    I'm also interested in this. I bought my girlfriend the 13 MacBook Pro Retina model with the Intel HD 4000 GPU only (I wouldn't of bought it without the nVidia GPU but she didn't need all that GPU power) and noticed that it gets laggy at times so I also want to overclock this GPU for better overall performance.

    Do we have any software that'll allow us to overclock the GPU only?
     
  8. G-Force macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #8
    Overclocking will not solve the lag issue. You need a better graphics chip to fix that.
     
  9. Exana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #9
    Scaling is just a question of CPU, not a of GPU. 15,4'' Retina have same lag issue whatever it runs GeForce or Intel.
     
  10. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #10
    Simple answer: NO!
    There is no overclocking standard mobile CPUs and Intel GPUs.

    Even with Nvidia/AMD GPUs when you can overclock it doesn't fix performance issues. You get 20% more if you are lucky and that just gets a few more fps but that doesn't change anything significant. If something lags noticeably you need 30-50% more performance not 10-15% as you get from GPU overclocking usually.
     
  11. freeeman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    #11
    I see ... so even when GeForce 650m is activated, the 15'' model also sometimes lag? Wow..

    Well that's not a deal breaker, bue one would expect at least to have a full and total smooth experience with a dedicated graphic chip.. mmh :/
     
  12. Asuriyan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    Indiana
    #12
    It's a result of inefficiency in the pixel supersampling OS X uses to give you Retina quality. It's gotten somewhat better with each successive software release- with Lion it was horrible. Now the only thing that lags on mine is Mission Control, and only then if certain content is open (Adobe plug-in in Safari mucks it up 100% of the time, every time).
     

Share This Page