RetinaPad - Yet another reason to jailbreak!

Discussion in 'iPad Hacks' started by BeSweeet, Dec 27, 2010.

  1. BeSweeet macrumors 68000

    BeSweeet

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #1
    Of the countless numbers of reasons people should jailbreak their iDevices, a new one has been added.

    Ryan Petrich, the genius behind FullForce (a hack that allows iPhone-only apps to run full and natively on an iPad), release RetinaPad. This hack allows iPhone apps that contain retina display graphics to be used in pixel-double mode. See my comparison screenshots below. Click here for my full article on RetinaPad (with more comparisons!).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    This is seriously amazing stuff. I was ecstatic to see this in Cydia. Real Racing 2 is the game I play the most on my iPad. Being able to play that game with its awesome high-resolution graphics on an iPad (without waiting for the iPad-specific version to be released) is really nice.
     
  2. code2006 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #2
    sweet
    will try this whith my ipad and a few games incl fifa 11 :)
    thanks mate
     
  3. koollectablz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #3
    Just tried this - works really well. Tom-tom now looks like a native iPad app!

    Really impressive!
     
  4. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for posting, I am a big fan of full force too.
     
  5. BeSweeet thread starter macrumors 68000

    BeSweeet

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #5
    I'm really impressed with Skype. It did work with FullForce, but would often freeze or crash. Definitely worth the $3 still.
     
  6. cdubz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #6
    After reading this post I went to cydia to purchase.It says that you need 4.2os to download,is there any way to put this on my JB'ed 3.2 ipad?
     
  7. BeSweeet thread starter macrumors 68000

    BeSweeet

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #7
    Nope, I don't think there is. The tethered 4.2.1 jailbreak is great. Being tethered isn't as bad as people may think. I can't remember the last time I've had to reboot my iPad.
     
  8. Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Sunny Southern California
    #8
    Great thanks for this, sir! Definitely gonna give it a shot.

    In regards to being tethered, if you have 4.2b3 SHSH saved you can untether! I just did today :D
     
  9. BeSweeet thread starter macrumors 68000

    BeSweeet

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #9
    True, but the untethered jailbreak still had a few bugs (some apps will crash... I think iBooks is one of them). They've been making great progress though.
     
  10. Jing-leBelle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    #10
    Nice apps! Waiting for more iPhone-apps compatible :)
     
  11. Dorkington macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
  12. NoStopN macrumors 6502

    NoStopN

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    #12
    Don't you have to be a developer to use beta versions? If so, then "the rest of us" will have to wait for an untethered JB. As for a tethered JB, if you turn your iDevice off, when you turn it back on you have to rejailbreak, right? That's a bit of an inconvenience. But it doesn't matter if you don't use a Mac. :p No matter what, I'll have to wait.
     
  13. Sherifftruman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #13
    I installed RetinaPad on my wifes iPad and have been real happy with it. Sure, I would prefer that more apps take advantage of the additional screen real estate, but at least with RetinaPad, it is not rubbing it in your face as badly with such jagged doubling.
     
  14. Pared macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #14
    Did they ever fix that annoying message upon launch?

    Even with it enabled, it used to say something like "please quit the app to enable RetinaPad" even after it was enabled and in use.
     
  15. Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Sunny Southern California
    #15
    Hey yes you need to be a developer to have access to the 4.2 beta file.

    Honestly, being tethered was not even a big deal at all. Think about how many times you actually turn your iDevice completely off...probably never, right? But you are correct, if it gets turned off, you plug it into the computer, run redsn0w, boot tethered, and follow the onscreen steps. Literally takes 1 minutes.
     
  16. coasterswim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #16
    iBooks works just fine for me on 4.2.1 untethered JB with "Jailbreak Monte".
     
  17. NoStopN macrumors 6502

    NoStopN

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    #17
    Here's the dilema: I actually turn off my iPad, which is what I would use redsn0w for. But, my PC takes a solid 2 minutes to boot up. :p Plus, redsn0w is Mac only. :(
     
  18. BeSweeet thread starter macrumors 68000

    BeSweeet

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #18
    2 minutes?!?! Time to upgrade.

    The Windows version of the redsn0w 0.9.7 beta is actually somewhere (or so I've heard).

    A lot of Windows-only users are using 10.6.x virtual machines with VMWare and it works fine.
     
  19. phyrexia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #19
    You do not neccessarily need to be a Dev to get the betas. I am not a Dev, did not pay anyone for a spot on a dev list, and I ran the Gold Masters. I do not wish to hijack the thread so PM me if you have questions.

    Victor
     
  20. Mirai 11 macrumors 6502

    Mirai 11

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    #20
    The Gold Master's don't require you to be a developer.
    Only the Betas such as 4.3 Beta 1 will require you to give your Developer ID so you can use it on your iOS device.
    Hopefully, as good as this utility is, that this problem will be resolved with iPad 2.
     
  21. JayTay macrumors member

    JayTay

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    Norwich
    #21
    I think you've been misinformed - I've used redsn0w on my work PC to boot thethered on my iPad fine.
     
  22. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #22
    Correct, he is very misinformed, no surprising he is having issues (Which are not really issues at all with the device but "users" problem).
     
  23. NoStopN macrumors 6502

    NoStopN

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    #23
    Yeah, 2 minutes. The PC is over 6 years old. That's prehistoric by today's standards. :p Redsn0w released beta 6 recently for Mac, but I had located a version of beta 5 for the PC & downloaded it. I usually don't look for virtual machine software, but I was aware of running Mac OS on a Windows PC. I may have to check out VMWare.
     
  24. jazz290 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #24
    I'm hoping someone can help me. I've tried this on Slacker, Monster.com, AP Mobile, and Time Out New York.

    Every time I launch, it asks if I want to use RetinaPad. I confirm and then it tells me to kill the app in the switcher bar. So I go back to the home screen, kill the app, and relaunch. Nothing happens and I go back to the two dialog boxes.

    Also, apps I select from the Settings -> Extensions -> RetinaPad list do not apply the "On" for the apps I select. If I select an app, then go to another menu and come back, nothing has been applied (i.e., they're all on "Off" again).

    I've tried reinstalling and also removing and installing again with no luck.

    Thanks for you help.
     
  25. Pared macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #25
    What version are you running? This is very important.
     

Share This Page